Reference Books
  
Radio-TV-Film: Library Research Guide

Main Page

      

You'll find valuable guides, handbooks, dictionaries/encyclopedias, directories, etc. in the field of Radio-TV-Film in the Reference section of the library (1st floor, North Wing).   Scroll down this page to see a list of some of the most heavily-used ones, by specific area.

Guides/Handbooks
Vault guide to television writing careers                               PN1992.7 .K83 2006
Vault guide to screenwriting careers                                   PN1996 .K85 2005
Entertainment awards: music,cinema,broadcasting guide     PN2270.A93 F68 2005
The screenwriter's sourcebook                                            PN1996 .H255 2005
The animated movie guide                                                  NC1765 .B367 2005
Career opportunities in radio                                               HE8689.4 .F54 2004

Opportunities in film careers                                               PN1995.9.P75 B66 2004
Great American playwrights on the screen: a critical guide    PS338.M67 R63 2003
BFI film and television handbook                                         PN1993.3 .F418 2003
Yakuza movie book: a guide to Japanese gangster films       PN1995.9.G3 S33 2003
Film noir guide: 745 films of the classic era 1940-1959          PN1995.9.F54 K43 2003
The independent film producer's survival guide                      PN1995.9.P7 E74 2002
The A List: The Nat. Society of Film Critics' 100 essentia...   PN1995 .A33 2002
The Ultimate film festival survival guide                                 PN1993.4 .G67 2001
Max Steiner's "Now, Voyager": A film score guide                ML410 .S8163 D38 2000
Cult movies                                                                       PN1997.8 .F74 2000

Encyclopedias
The film encyclopedia                                                      PN1993.45 .K34 2008
Encyclopedia of novels into film                                        PN1997.85 .T54 2005
Encyclopedia of early cinema                                           PN1993.45 .E53 2005
Television cartoon shows: an illustrated encyclopedia         PN1992.8.A59 E74 2005
Tele-visionaries: people behind the invention of television     TK6630 .W43 2005
Encyclopedia of superheroes on film and television             PN1995.9.S76 M85 2004
Encyclopedia of war movies                                              PN1995.9.W3 D38 2004
Encyclopedia of opera on screen                                       ML102.O6 W55 2004
Encyclopedia of radio                                                       TK6544 .M84 2004
Encyclopedia of television                                                 PN1992.18 .E53 2004
Encyclopedia of 20th-century American television               PN1992.18 .L33 2003
Encyclopedia of Hollywood film actors                               PN1998.2 .S38 2003
Encyclopedia of ethnic groups in Hollywood                       PN1995.9.M56 M85 2003
Encyclopedia of westerns (film)                                         PN1995.9.W4 F27 2003
Encyclopedia of British film                                               PN1993.5.G7 E53 2003
Encyclopedia of science fiction movies                              PN1995.9 .S26 H38 2001
Encyclopedic guide to the American movie musical            PN1995.9.M86 H57 2001
Acting: an international encyclopedia                                 PN2035 .O84 2001
Encyclopedia of movie special effects                                TR858 .N48 2000
Encyclopedia of American radio: an A-Z guide                    PN1991.3 U6 L29 2000
Radio Drama: A comprehensive chronicle                           PN1991.9 .G73 2000
Animated film encyclopedia: a guide to shorts                    NC1765 .W42 2000

Dictionaries
Historical dictionary of old-time radio                                 PN1991.3.U6 R45 2008
Historical dictionary of Italian cinema                                 PN1993.5.I88 M56 2008
Historical dictionary of African American cinema                 PN1995.9.N4 B433 2007
Historical dictionary of African American television              PN1992.8.A34 F43 2006
Dictionary of film terms                                                     PN1993.45 .B33 2006

New biographical dictionary of film                                     PN1998.2 .T49 2004
Gardner's film, video & TV dictionary                                  TR847 .G37 2003
Critical dictionary of film and television theory                     PN1993.45 .C75 2001
The Film Studies Dictionary                                              PN1993.45 .B53 2001
International dictionary of broadcasting and film                  PN1990.4 .B64 2000
Filmmaker's dictionary                                                     PN1993.45 .S56 2000

Directories
Gale directory of publications and broadcast media              Z6951 .A6712 2009
World radio TV handbook [directory]                                   TK6540 .W67 2009
Broadcasting & cable yearbook                                          HE8689 .B771 2009
Bacon's TV/cable directory                                                 HE8700.8 .B33 2007
Bacon's radio directory                                                       HE8664 .B33 2007
LA 411 Directory                                                               PN1993.5.U65 L22 2002
 

(To find even more books, search the Library's online catalog ).

Prepared by: John Hickok, Audiovisual/Communications Librarian
A page of the Pollak Library at Cal State University, Fullerton.
©2009 California State University, Fullerton.  All rights reserved.