Web sites
  
Radio-TV-Film: Library Research Guide

Main Page



smwrld.gif (21878 bytes)clinks.gif (4516 bytes)animcomputer.gif (4071 bytes)

There are lots of great web sites on the Internet for RTVF students: sites of professional organizations, sites of career information, sites of industry resources, etc.    Below is a list of some useful/popular Radio-TV-Film sites.  This list is just being launched, so If you have additional sites you would like to add to this list, submit them: -->  jhickok@fullerton.edu  (These links also found at the RTVF Department homepage).

Broadcasting (General)

1. National Association of Broadcasters (NAB)
    This is a professional association of broadcasters (TV, cable, etc.)   Includes info, tips, etc.
   
http://www.nab.org/
2. Broadcast Education Association (BEA)
    Another professional association, focusing on career development and job leads.
   
http://www.communicationdisorders.com
3. Broadcast.com
    (Lists TV, radio, and movie sites and information)
    www.broadcast.com

Radio

1. American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers
    (Music licensing organization)  
    www.ascap.org  
2. Arbitron
   (Company that conducts radio ratings)
    www.arbitron.com
3. Broadcast Music Inc.
    (A music licensing organization)  
    www.bmi.com

4
. Museum of Television and Radio
    (Information about the museum and the radio and television industries in general)  
    www.mtr.org

5. Billboard's Top 100 Historical Charts
    Gives the top 5 songs for each year back to the '50's, free on Website
    (full list of each year's songs is only available with paid subscription)
    http://www.billboard.com/bbcom/charts/yearend_chart_index.jsp

Television

1. Television.com
    Previews, listings, news, and information about particular shows and television in general 
    www.television.com  
2. Museum of Television and Radio
    Information about the museum and the radio and television industries in general
    www.mtr.org  
3. UCLA Film and Television Archive
    Lists the archives’ film and TV programs and special events
    www.cinema.ucla.edu
4. Academy of Television Arts and Sciences
    (Professional organization, awarding Emmys and also awards and internships for students) 
    www.emmys.org
5. Encyclopedia of Television
    Online excerpts from this print publication.  Provided by the Museum of Broadcast Communication.
    http://www.museum.tv/archives/etv/index.html
6. Comsat
    (A United States domestic satellite provider)  
    www.comsat.com 
7. Entertainment Tonight
    (Information about the program and the entertainment business in general)  
    www.etonline.com  
8. Intelsat
    (An international satellite provider)  
    www.intelsat.com
9. Nielsen
    (Company that does television ratings)
    www.acnielsen.com
10. TV Party
      (Clips from old and new TV shows and general information about television)  
      www.tvparty.com
11. Television News Archive
      (Vanderbilt Univ. archive of 30,000 TV news broadcasts going back over 10
      years, from all major networks: ABC,CBS,NBC,CNN).
     
http://tvnews.vanderbilt.edu/

Film

1. Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
    (Professional organization that gives our Oscars and also has student awards) 
    www.oscars.org
2. Alwaysi
    (Independent films that can be viewed for free)
    www.alwaysi.com
3. American Cinematheque
    (Lists events at the Egyptian Theater)
    www.americancinematheque.com 
4. American Film Institute
    (Information about AFI events and courses)
    www.afionline.org
5. Film.com
   (Film trailers provided by Real Networks)  
    www.film.com
6. Film Forum
    (Gives play dates and places of experimental and independent films)  
    www.filmforum.org 
7. Foreign Films
    Reviews and information about where to obtain films produced in other countries)  
    www.foreignfilms.com
8. IFilm
    (A place to view and submit films for the Internet)  
    www.ifilm.com
9. Independent Film Channel
    (Cable TV channel that programs independent films and information about them)      www.ifctv.com
10.Internet Movie Database
    (Database of movies and TV shows)
    www.IMDb.com
11.Indie7
    (Online indep. film resource-- festivals, distribution, and screenings, etc.)
    www.indie7.com
12.MediaEntertainment
    Information about and the ability to watch featured short films)  
    www.mediatainment.com 
13.Moviehead Entertainment
    Movies to view and information about other sites that show movies) 
    www.moviehead.com
14.Next Wave Films
    (Resources and information for emerging film makers)
    www.nextwavefilms.com
15.UCLA Film and Television Archive
    (Lists the archives’ film and TV programs and special events)
     www.cinema.ucla.edu

16. DocuSeek
     Search engine of over 3,200 independent documentaries from 8 different
     distributors' catalogs.
     www.docuseek.com

17. Library of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences
      Located in Los Angeles, open to the public, containing books and archival material
     
http://www.oscars.org/mhl/index.html


Prepared by: John Hickok, Audiovisual/Communications Librarian
A page of the Pollak Library at Cal State University, Fullerton.
©2007 California State University, Fullerton.  All rights reserved.