Library Research: READING 290

Pollak Library Reading at CSUF Ask-a-Question Research Tips
Home

Articles


Books

Citation Styles




 

 

 

 

Articles
Articles
play a  predominant role in disseminating scholarly information.  Articles in general are published in newspapers, scholarly journals, magazines, newsletters, and etc.  Current articles communicate the most recent research and studies in a field.  Your professor may require that you use articles from either popular or scholarly journals or both.  The Pollak Library's collection contains both popular and scholarly journals, indexes/ abstracts databases, as well as electronic journals and full-text databases  that would be helpful to your research.  Remote access to these databases is available to the CSUF students, faculty, and staff via Titan Access.

  • Electronic Journal Collections
    Provide the complete text of articles in electronic format.  Entire issues of journals are available for online borwsing and access. Articles online varies from journal to journal. Online searching also available.

    IDEAL
    Some education & psychology journals.

    JSTOR
    Back issues of scholarly journals primarily in the humanities and social sciences. 

    Science Direct
    Some education & psychology journals.  Select group-wide login.  
    Select Journals to browse title/subject or Search to find articles.


    Wiley Interscience
    Some education & psychology journals.  Select Journal Search or Journal Finder.

  • Full-text (or selected full-text) Databases
    Provide a mix of article citations and texts from both popular and scholarly publications.

    CQ Researcher via the CQ Library
    Expanded Academic ASAP
    Dow Jones Interactive -- Select Publications Library
    LexisNexis Academic Universe --Search separately in News, Legal Research, and Reference libraries.
    ProQuest Direct -- Select ABI-Inform Global



Jie Tian
Reference Librarian
CSUF Pollak Library

28 Sep 2001 03:28 PM