|
What is RefWorks?
RefWorks
is a web-based bibliographic management service used for storing and
organizing citations, as well as automatically formatting
bibliographies. It is similar to EndNote and ProCite, but your
citations are stored on the RefWorks server rather than on your local
machine and thus you must be connected to the Internet to use
RefWorks.
Quick Links
RefWorks FAQ
1.
What is RefWorks?
2.
How do I access RefWorks?
3.
How do I set up a RefWorks
account?
4.
Can I access RefWorks from
off-campus?
5.
Where are my RefWorks
citations stored?
6.
How do I back up my citations?
7.
How can I share my RefWorks
database?
8.
How can I import database
and library catalog search results into RefWorks?
9.
When I try to export citations
from a database to RefWorks, nothing happens. What do I do?
10.
Can I export my RefWorks
citations to EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager?
11.
Can I move my EndNote,
ProCite, or Reference Manager citations to RefWorks?
12.
What is Write-N-Cite and what does it do?
13.
When using Write-N-Cite
from off-campus, what should I do if I am asked for a Group Code?
14.
Can I import records from Google Scholar?
15.
Where can I get help with
using RefWorks?
16. I am having trouble using the online
catalog search feature, what should I do?
17.Can I use Write-N-Cite with Office
2007?
1.
What is RefWorks?
RefWorks is a web-based
bibliography and citation manager. RefWorks allows users to create their own
personal citation databases by importing references from text files, online
databases, or the SFX menu. The RefWorks Write-N-Cite feature allows for
automatic formatting of footnotes, endnotes and bibliographies in papers
using Word.
RefWorks is similar to
other citation management software, such as EndNote, Reference Manager, and
ProCite. The main difference with RefWorks is that it is web-based and can
be accessed through a California State University, Fullerton institutional
account from any computer, on or off campus. CSUF faculty, staff and
students are all entitled to a free RefWorks account.
2.
How do I access RefWorks?
RefWorks can be accessed from any Macintosh
or Windows computer with internet access and one of the following web
browsers:
- Internet Explorer
Version 5.0 or later
- Netscape Version 4.7
or later
- Mozilla Firefox
- Safari
3.
How do I set up a RefWorks account?
To set up an account,
navigate to RefWorks using the link on the
Pollak Library home page.
If you are off campus, you'll be asked to authenticate with your campus
portal login and password. Once you are identified as a Cal State Fullerton
faculty, staff or student, you’ll be allowed free access to RefWorks. The
User Login for California State University, Fullerton will appear.
Under
New to RefWorks?,
click on the Sign up for an Individual Account link.
In the
New User
Information for California State University, Fullerton window, enter your
name, login name, password, Cal State Fullerton e-mail address, type of
user, and area of focus. Once you’ve registered, a confirmation will be
sent to your e-mail address. You’ll also receive periodic updates from RefWorks on enhancements and upgrades.
4.
Can I access RefWorks from off campus?
Yes, although you will
need to go through the Pollak Library home page to access your account when
you are off campus.
5.
Where are my RefWorks citations stored?
Your citations are
stored on the RefWorks server, which is not on campus. Pollak Library
purchases a subscription to RefWorks for the Cal State Fullerton campus.
6.
How do I back up
my citations?
You can backup your
citations on your computer by using the Backup/Restore feature. Select
References or Tools at the top of the page and then click on the
Backup/Restore option. You’ll then be presented with the option to Include
References and/or Include RSS Feeds. Click on the Perform Backup button. A
copy of your database will be downloaded to your computer.
7.
How can I share
my RefWorks database?
RefWorks allows you to
provide read-only access to your database. By creating and sharing a
Read-only password, others will be able to search your database, export data
and create bibliographies. They will not be able to edit references, import
references or change folders.
To make your database
read-only, click on Update User Info. Enter a read-only password (different
from your original password) and click Update. With your login name and
read-only password, users will be allowed to access your database in
read-only mode.
8.
How can I import
database and library catolog search results into RefWorks?
Some databases have the
option to directly export citations to RefWorks. For a list of the database
publishers that provide a method for direct export to Refworks and detailed
step-by-step instructions for each database (or database interface, like
EBSCO), login to Refworks and then navigate to:
Library catalogs may be
searched from within RefWorks and the results of any searches seamlessly
imported. To accomplish this, login to RefWorks and select the Search
menu. Select the Pollak Library
Catalog, or any one of numerous other catalogs listed. Do a Quick or
Advanced Search. Mark the results you wish to import, and click on the
import button.
9.
When I try to
export citations from a database to RefWorks, nothing happens. What do I do?
You have a couple of
options. First, you can check to see if the popup window blocker is set on
your browser.
In Netscape, go to Edit
- Preferences - Privacy and Security - Popup Windows and see if the blocker
is set. If set, you can add www.refworks.com as an allowed site.
If you’ve added the
Google toolbar to Internet Explorer, the popup blocker may be set. Select
Options. Under Accessories select the Options tab, and turn off the Popup
Blocker.
OR
Save your citations as
text and import into RefWorks.
If you continue to have problems with
exporting citations to RefWorks, you may want to save your citations as text
and use RefWorks to import.
Instructions for saving
citations as text and importing into RefWorks are available at the following
locations:
10.
Can I export my RefWorks citations to EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager?
Yes. After logging in
to RefWorks, click on References and select the Export option. Then, select
either All References or the specific folder you want to export. Select
Bibliographic Software (for EndNote, Reference Manager, or ProCite). This
format is sometimes called the RIS Format or Reference Manager Format.
Click the Export to
Text File button. Save this file to your computer.
You may now import this
file to your EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager library, using RIS
Format as the import option.
11.
Can I move my EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager citations to RefWorks?
There are step-by-step
instructions for converting an existing citation database into RefWorks in
the Refworks Help feature at
https://www.refworks.com/Refworks/help/Exporting_from_Bibliographic_
Programs_and_Importing_into_RefWorks.htm
Be sure to login to RefWorks before clicking this link.
These instructions
cover EndNote, Reference Manager and ProCite, among other common citation
management applications.
12.
What is
Write-N-Cite and what does it do?
Write-n-Cite is a
feature which allows you to access your references in RefWorks while working
within Microsoft Word. Write-n-Cite allows you to insert citation
placeholders and, when you are ready, to add a bibliography to the end of the
document. Write-n-Cite will create a bibliography and properly format your
in-text citations based upon only those references that have been inserted
into your Word document. To install the Write-N-Cite plug-in, select
Write-N-Cite under the Tools menu.
Write-N-Cite is compatible
only with Windows PC users, using Microsoft Internet Explorer and
running Microsoft Word 2000 or higher or Mac users using OS 10.X version 3
or higher and Word for Mac 98 or higher. Users with other operating
systems, browsers or word processing software should use the One Line/Cite
View feature which works very similarly to Write-N-Cite. See the online
help in RefWorks or the RefWorks Tutorial for more information on
Write-N-Cite or One Line/Cite View.
13.
When using
Write-N-Cite from off-campus, what should I do if I am asked
for a Group Code?
Cal State Fullerton is
not using Group Codes to control access to RefWorks. In
order to get Write-N-Cite to open to the login screen for Cal
State Fullerton, follow the instructions below after you
have installed the Write-N-Cite plugin:
Windows
Users:
-
On the
off-campus PC workstation on which you have installed the
Write-N-Cite plugin, click on the Start in the lower left of
the screen, then select Programs, then RefWorks.
-
Select
the WNC Proxy Configuration Utility.
-
Enter
this URL: http://lib-proxy.fullerton.edu/login?url=https://www.refworks.com/Refworks/?WNC=true
-
Click
OK.
Mac Users:
At this time Write-N-Cite cannot be
configured for Macs for off-campus use. We are working
with RefWorks to address the issue.
14. Can
I import records from Google Scholar?
Yes, RefWorks users can now set an export
preference to send data from Google Scholar to their RefWorks
account with the click of a button.
To set this feature up in Google Scholar:
1. From the Google Scholar search page, click on
the Scholars Preferences link..
2. Scroll down to the
Bibliography Manager
section.
3. Select
Show Links to Import into and select
RefWorks from the
drop-down.
4. Click Save
Preferences.
To initate a direct export to RefWorks:
1. Conduct your search in Google Scholar
2. Each record displayed will have an
Import into RefWorks
link. Clicking on the link will launch the RefWorks login page.
3. Once you log in, you are brought
automatically to the Edit
view of the reference. If you do not wish to edit the record,
you can navigate to any other area of RefWorks.
4. Your record is stored
in your
Last Imported Folder.
15.
Where can I get
help with using RefWorks?
16.
I am having trouble using the online catalog search feature, what should I do?
You may
receive and error message when using the "Quick Search"
feature if you are using Firefox or Mozilla. Use the
Advanced Search feature below or try your search using
Internet Explorer.
17.
Can I use Write-N-Cite with Office
2007?
Use the Write-N-Cite feature and save
your document. Then open up your Refworks account. Select
the "Bibliography" and then "Format Paper for Bibliography."
Next browse to the document that you want to format.
|