Publishing for Academics

Resources in Pollak Library

JCR (Journal Citation Report)

SPARC: The Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition

SHERPA: RoMEO

Guides with Acceptance/Rejection Rates by Discipline

Guides & Style Manual (no rejection rate info) by Discipline

This is a selective list of resources that provide publication information for authors. All are located in the Reference Section, First Floor of Library North, unless noted otherwise.

Impact factor, acceptance rates, and peer evaluation are tools that can help one see or show to others not familiar with a field where a journal ranks.

Additional sources of information: (1) Many journals and societies have web pages that give publication data and style requirements and often includes acceptance/rejection rates. (2) The paper copy of the journal occasionally includes this data and will always provide current contact information.

horizontal rule

JCR (Journal Citation Report)

Provides a systematic means to evaluate the ranking of journals within the sciences and social sciences. Information available includes 1) most frequently cited journals in a field, 2) hottest journals in a field, 3) highest impact journals in a field, and 4) most published articles in a field. Pollak Library provides access to the two primary Web of Science JCR components for the 2004-present:

bulletScience - 5,900 journals
bulletSocial Sciences - 1,700 journals

If your journal is not listed in JCR, try one of the sources listed below for acceptance/rejection rates.

horizontal rule

SPARC: The Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition
Publisher's description: "SPARC ®, the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition, is an international alliance of academic and research libraries working to correct imbalances in the scholarly publishing system. Developed by the Association of Research Libraries, SPARC has become a catalyst for change. Its pragmatic focus is to stimulate the emergence of new scholarly communication models that expand the dissemination of scholarly research and reduce financial pressures on libraries. Action by SPARC in collaboration with stakeholders – including authors, publishers, and libraries – builds on the unprecedented opportunities created by the networked digital environment to advance the conduct of scholarship."

horizontal rule

SHERPA:RoMEO
Publisher's description: "This service is maintained by SHERPA, with support from JISC and the Wellcome Trust. It is a development of the original journal publishers' listings produced by the RoMEO Project. Journal information is kindly provided by the British Library's Zetoc service hosted by MIMAS. The information held here is available for use by third-parties under conditions for re-use and a Creative Commons licence. See a list of sites that are already using RoMEO data. A prototype API is available and being developed for m2m access: for example to be integrated into a repository’s deposit process. Statistics are available for RoMEO colours allocated to the publishers in this list. Contact us for further information. Publisher information is updated by our collaborative colleagues (SHERPA Partners, DINI, and Nereus) and through community contributions - please submit any updates using the link provided on the search results pages. If a publisher is not listed here you may wish to recommend that we include it. Please note that these listings refer to journal publications and not to book publications. Consult the publishing contract, or contact publishers directly for their self-archiving policies for book chapters."

horizontal rule

GUIDES that include the acceptance/rejection rate

*Unless otherwise noted, all print items are in the Reference Section of the library.

Usually all resources include: Address, Editors, Editorial Policy, Limited to Extensive Manuscript Requirements, Frequency, Number of Articles, Rejection Rate, Types of Articles.

Multi-Disciplinary

bulletWEB:
Reference Guide of Professional Journals/Publications
Ohio State University Extension. No date.
Agriculture, Behavioral Science, Community Development, Cognition, Communications, Creativity, Diversity, Evaluation, Extension/Agricultural Education, Family and Consumer Sciences, Food Science, Human Ecology, Human Resources, Leadership, Leisure, Psychology, Reading, Sociology, Violence. 

Accounting/Business/Economics/Finance

bulletONLINE: Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities [CSUF only]
 
bulletPRINT: Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in ...
bulletAccounting 8th ed. REFERENCE  H1 C221 2001-2
bulletEconomics and Finance 9th ed. (2 vol.)  REFERENCE  H1 .C22 2004-5
bulletManagement 8th ed. (4 vol.)  REFERENCE  H28 .C231 2000-1
bulletMarketing 8th ed.  REFERENCE  H1 C232 2001-2

Communication

bullet

Iowa Guide: Scholarly Journals in Mass Communication and Related Fields
10th ed. 2003 Internet access (for journal details go to Journal List or the html version)

Education

bullet

ONLINE: Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities [CSUF only]
 

bulletPRINT: Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Curriculum and Methods
REFERENCE 
Z286.E3 C322 
bulletPRINT: Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Psychology and Administration
REFERENCE  Z286.E3 C323

Instructional Technology

bullet

WEB:
Journals in the field of Instructional Technology
From Penn State/Galbraith/Bentley. No date.

Language & Literature

bulletWEB:
MLA : Directory of Periodicals
To access: Log in to MLA International Bibliography. At main search screen, in dropdown source box change from MLA INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY to MLA: DIRECTORY OF PERIODICALS. 

Library & Information Science

bullet

WEB:
InPrint
[electronic subscription]
To access: Search Library Catalog for title: inprint.
Note: Does not seem to be maintained.

Music

bullet

PRINT:
Writing about music : a guide to publishing opportunities for authors and reviewers
REFERENCE  ML128 .P24 B37 1989

Nursing

bullet PRINT:
Writer's Guide to Nursing Periodicals
4th FLOOR SOUTH  RT24 .D35 2000

Political Science

bullet PRINT:
Getting Published in Political Science Journals
5th ed. Martin & Goehlert. APSA.
5th FLOOR SOUTH  JA86 .M37 2001  

Psychology

bulletWEB:
APA: Journal Statistics and Operations Data
[acceptance rates]

Social Sciences/Social Work

bulletPRINT:
Author's Guide to Journals in the Behavioral Sciences
. Wang.  
6
th FLOOR SOUTH  BF76.8 .W36 1989
bulletPRINT:
An Author's Guide to Social Work Journals 4th ed. NASW.
REFERENCE  HV85 .A93 1997
bullet WEB: Family and Consumer Sciences Research: A Compendium of Journals
Iowa State U. [Economics/finance, sociology, psychology, child development]. Dated: 1999.

Others (Older)  

bullet

Directory of Publishing Sources : the Researcher's Guide to Journals in Engineering and Technology. Balachandran.
4th FL SOUTH  TA145z .B34 1982

bulletHistorical Journals: A Handbook for Writers and Reviewers
REFERENCE  D10z .S73 1981
bulletAuthor's Guide to Journals in Law, Criminal Justice and Criminology  
4th FL SOUTH 
K36 .M47 1979
bulletAuthor's Guide to Journals in Library and Information Science
4th FL SOUTH  Z666 .S84 1982
bulletAuthor's Guide to Journals in Sociology and Related Fields. Sussman, ed.
5th FL SOUTH  H1z .S87 1978

 

horizontal rule

GUIDES (no acceptance/rejection rate) and STYLE MANUALS

General:

bulletAmerican Directory of Writer's Guidelines : a Compilation of Information for Freelancers From More than 1,300 Magazine Editors and Book Publishers. Mutchler.
REFERENCE  PN147 .A479 2003.  
bulletChicago Manual of Style. Reference Desk  
bulletHandbook for Scholars. Leunen. REFERENCE  PN146 .V36 1992  
bulletWEB: Style Manual: US Government Printing Office

Arts

bulletWriting About Music: A Guide to Publishing Opportunities for Authors and Reviewers. Basart. REFERENCE  ML3797 .I79 1999

Humanities & Social Sciences

bulletASA Style Guide, 2nd ed. American Sociological Association. HM586 .A54 1997
bulletGuide to Publishing in Psychology Journals. Sternberg, ed. BF76.8 .G85 2000 (6th floor south)
bulletMatter of Style at the Bureau of Labor Statistics. L2.2:ST9/1999 (Gov/US)
bulletMLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing. Gibaldi. 4th ed. Reference Desk
bulletPublication Manual of the American Psychological Association. APA. 5th ed. Reference Desk
bulletSBL Handbook of Style: for Ancient Near Eastern, Biblical, and Early Christian Studies. PN147 .S26 1999
bulletSerials on Aging: an Analytical Guide. Hesslein. HQ1061z .H47 1986 (5th floor south)
bulletStyle Manual for Political Science. APSA. JA86 .A52 2001

Medicine

bulletAmerican Medical Association Manual of Style. 9th ed. R119 .A533 1998
bulletInstruction to Authors in the Health Sciences. Medical College of Ohio.

Sciences

bullet

ACS Style Guide: a Manual for Authors and Editors. 2nd ed.  QD8.5 .A25 1997

bullet

AIP Stype Manual : for Guidance in Writing, Editing, and Preparing Physics Manuscripts for Publication 4th ed. QC5.45 .A45 1990

bullet

Geowriting: a Guide to Writing, Editing, and Printing in Earth Science 5th ed. QE48.85 .G45 1995

bullet

How to Write and Present Technical Information 3rd ed. T11 .S528

bullet

How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper 6th ed. On order for reference

bullet

How to Write and Publish Engineering Papers and Reports 3rd ed. T11 .M418 1990 (4th floor south)

bullet

Science and Technical Writing. 2nd ed. T11 .S378 2001

bullet

Scientific Style and Format: the CBE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers 6th ed. T11 .S386 1996 

horizontal rule

Prepared by Rosemary McGill: rmcgill@fullerton.edu
An instructional page of  Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2008 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Created July 2001. Last Updated: February 4, 2008.