Looking for
magazine/journal articles for a Human Communication research assignment? This page will help you
get started!
Databases
The Library subscribes to databases that provide articles on communications topics.
To get to them, follow these steps:
s go to the Library's
homepage and click "FIND
DATABASES"
s at
the right, click on "HUMAN COMMUNICATION" (or "COMMUNICATIVE DISORDERS")
s you
will then see a list of databases that are ideal for finding articles in that
field

KEYWORD SEARCHING: Once you are in a database, search
for articles similar to searching on Google: type in keywords of what you
want (e.g. debate and clubs). A list of articles
will then come up. If you see "FULL TEXT" next to any on the list, great!
You can click and read the full-text immediately. If "FULL TEXT" is not
stated, then click on the yellow "Find it" button

SUBJECT SEARCHING: You don't have to only
search with random keywords. Random keywords can often bring up hundreds
of unrelated articles, simply because the keywords appeared somewhere in
the article. Instead, change your search box to a SUBJECT search,
and type a word. This will look for articles entirely ABOUT that word, not
just find that word randomly. For example, an article ABOUT
interpersonal communication, not just an article that has the words
interpersonal communication in it.
For articles on controversial/debate topics, also visit the Library's
quick-guide to controversial/debate resources,
here.
Human Communication is in many ways interdisciplinary. For
example, if you wanted to research the role of speech in social settings, you might
consult the Sociology database. At the "FIND DATABASES" page, you can
click on other majors to find their databases.
Printed Indexes
To find articles older than 1985, you will need to consult printed
indexes, since databases typically don't cover older than
that. Printed indexes do the same thing as databases--let you find
articles by subject, author, etc.--they are just slower because you have to look
the citations up manually. Here are some printed indexes helpful to Human
Communication Students:
Index to journals in communication studies through 1990 (from 1970-1990)
Communication
abstracts (from 1978- on)
Cum.
indexes of journals of the Am.Speech&Hearing Assoc (from 1936-1972)
Speech index
(from 1935-1966)
Psychological
Abstracts (from 1927-1993)
Prepared by: John
Hickok, Communications Librarian
A page of the Pollak Library at Cal State University, Fullerton.
©2009 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.