Reference Books

Human Communication: Library Research Guide

Main Page

You'll find valuable guides, handbooks, dictionaries/encyclopedias, directories, etc. in the field of Human Communication in the Reference section of the library (1st floor, North Wing).   Scroll down this page to see a list of some of the most frequently-used ones.

Human Communication
Guides
Sourcebook for rhetoric: key concepts in contemporary...      PN172 .J37 2001
Quick guide to the Internet for speech communication           ZA4201. D69 2000
Talking about people: a guide to fair & accurate language      P301 .M33 1997
A handbook of modern rhetorical terms                                PN172 .W6 1979
Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric                                                    PN172.E52 2001
A dictionary of quotations about communication                   PN6081. D535 2000
Language and communic.:a cross-cultural encyclopedia       P29 .F47 1998
Encyclopedia of rhetoric and composition                            PN172 .E53 1996
Directories
Speech Communication Association directory                      PN4073 .S742 1996/97
Directory of grad programs in communic. arts & sciences     PN4073 .S621 1987

(Controversial/Debate resources)
Click here for the Library's quick-guide on controversial/debate resources.

Communicative Disorders
Guides
Sourcebook for medical speech pathology                           RC423 .G64 1998
Desk ref. of assessment instruments in speech & lang          RC423 .H338 1996
Guide to prof.services in speech-lang. pathology&audiology  RC427 .G84 1987
Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
Illustrated dictionary of speech-language pathology               RC423 .S533 2000
The encyclopedia of deafness and hearing disorders             RF290 .T93 2000
A dictionary of speech therapy                                            RC423 .M597 1988
Terminology of comm. disorders:speech-lang.-hearing           RC423 .N52 1989
Directories

      

(To find even more books, search the online catalog by clicking here:  Computer )
 

Prepared by: John Hickok, Communications Librarian
A page of the Pollak Library at Cal State University, Fullerton.
©2007 California State University, Fullerton.  All rights reserved.