Special
Education 522: Positive Behavior Support
Greg Yorba, Reference Librarian
LIBRARY DATATBASES
ERIC
Educational Resources Information Center is a database of education information.
The information is available in three different formats: FirstSearch,
WebSpirs,
and CSA.
This database contains abstracts of journals and educational documents. EJ in
the accession number (AN in the record) denotes a journal abstract, ED in the
Accession number denotes an Eric Document. All ED numbers are available on microfiche
from the library in the Periodicals section, 2nd floor Library North (and some
documents are available within the database (CSA, FirstSearch and WebSpirs interfaces).
Sample Eric / Psyc Info Descriptors/Descriptors
Expanded
Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP includes indexing and abstracting for nearly 2,000 journals
and magazines, and full text for over 900 journals and magazines. Some full
text titles include American Journal of Education (from 1997-2001),
Educational Leadership (from 1992-1998), Exceptional Children
(1988-), Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology (from 1993-), Journal
of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (from 1993-),
Journal of Educational Research (from 1997-), Journal of Learning
Disabilities (from 1998-), Journal of Special Education (1998-),Journal
of Speech and Hearing Research (1992-1993), Journal of Speech, Language,
and Hearing Research (2000-), Journal of Teacher Education (from
1992-1993,1997-), Learning Disability Quarterly (2000-), and Topics
in Early Childhood Special Education (1998-2000). This database also includes
indexing and abstracting (not full text) for journals such as Gifted Child
Quarterly, Harvard Educational Review (only until 2001), Journal of Applied
Behavior Analysis, Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry and Allied Disciplines,
Journal of Educational Psychology, and Review of Educational Research.
Factiva
In Factiva you will find selected full text from journals such as American
Annals of the Deaf, Annual Review of Psychology, Educational Leadership, Exceptional
Children, Harvard Educational Review, Journal of Counseling and Development,
Journal of Emotional and Behavioral Disorders, Journal of Learning Disabilities,
Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research, Journal of the American Academy
of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, NASSP Bulletin, Phi Delta Kappan, and
Review of Educational Research.
FirstSearch Databases
FirstSearch is a company that is responsible for several library databases.
FirstSearch has several citation databases, for example, ERIC
(Education database which includes citations for ERIC documents and journals),
Dissertation
Abstracts Online (dissertations from accredited institutions), Education
Abstracts (citations for over 400 periodicals and yearbooks in the subject
of education) and Sociological Abstracts (indexing and abstracts covering sociology,
social work, and other social sciences).
Mental
Measurements Yearbook
The yearbook includes descriptive information and critical reviews of more than
2,000 commercially available standardized English language educational, personality,
aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement and intelligence tests.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO indexes publications relevant to the field of psychology. Journal coverage
spans from 1887-present. This database includes citations and summaries of journals,
books, chapters of books, technical reports, and dissertations.
Science
Direct
Science Direct gives access to primary research journals from Elsevier Press.
Although Science Direct is geared towards math and science there are a few education,
psychology and sociology journals included in the database. A sample of the
journals available include: Analysis and Intervention in Developmental Disabilities,
Behavior Research and Therapy, Contemporary Educational Psychology, Developmental
Review, Early Childhood Research Quarterly, Journal of Applied Developmental
Psychology, Journal of Experimental Child Psychology, Journal of Fluency Disorders,
Journal of School Psychology, Learning and Individual Differences, Research
in Developmental Disabilities and Social Science Research.
WEB RESOURCES
ERIC Clearinghouse on Disabilities and Special Education
ERIC's Clearinghouse on Special Education includes links to other resources,
ERIC Digests (full text material), and links to laws.
http://ericec.org/
Special Education Resources on the Internet
This web site includes links to resources on learning disabilities, behavior
disorders, autism, special needs and technology, El Toro Campus. Hood College
of Maryland is the host of this site.
http://seriweb.com/
Special Education and Disabilities Resources
Another large site featuring links to resources on Special Education and Disabilities
(Early childhood, brain injury, language and speech, parent and family issues,
visual disabilities, El Toro Campus.). Drake University's School of Education
(Iowa) maintains this web site.
http://www.educ.drake.edu/rc/Sp_ed_top.html
TASH Links
The Association for Persons with Severe Handicaps maintains a page of links
to relevant information. Included on the page are links on inclusion.
http://www.tash.org/links/index.htm
Yahoo's Special Education Resources
Yahoo maintains an index of links to resources in special education. This site
allows you to search Yahoo, connects to Special Education resources in Employment,
Learning Disabilities, Schools, and has links to many resources in Special Education.
http://www.yahoo.com/education/special_education/
JOURNALS AVAILABLE AT THE MAIN CAMPUS
American Journal
of Speech and Language Pathology
Library has 2001-current
Call Number: Periodicals RC423.A1 A43
Augmentative
and Alternative Communication
Library has 1982-current
Call Number: Periodicals RC423.A1 A834
Behavioral Disorders
: Journal of the Council for Children with Behavioral Disorders
Library has 1999-current
Call Number: Periodicals RJ506.B44 B44
Education and
Training In Mental Retardation and Developmental Disabilities
Library has 1994 - current
Call Number: Periodicals LC4001 E251
Exceptional Children
Library has 75/76-current, 1951/52-74/75 available in compact stacks
Call Number: Periodicals LC3991 E96
Focus on Autism
and Other Developmental Disorders
Library has 1996-current
Call Number: Periodicals RJ506.A9 F63
Focus on Exceptional
Children
Library has 1983-current, 1969-89/90 on microfilm
Call Number: Periodicals LC4001 F65
International
Journal of Disability, Development, and Education
Library has 1989-current
Call Number: Periodicals LC4001 S631
International
Journal of Language and Communication Disorders
Library has 1998-current
Call Number: Periodicals LC423 .S74a
Journal of Applied
Behavior Analysis
Library has 1975-current, 1963-74 in compact stacks
Call Number: Periodicals BF 636 A1 J6
Journal of Autism
and Developmental Disorders
Library has 1979 - current
Call Number: Periodicals RJ499 A1 J581
Journal of Communication
Disorders
Library has 1975-current
Call Number: Periodicals RC423 .J65
Internet
Access
Journal of Early
Intervention
Library has 1994-current
Call Number: Periodicals LC4019.2 J68
Journal of Educational
Research
Library has 1989/90-current, 1920-88/89 on microfilm
Call Number: Periodicals L11 J75
Journal of Emotional
and Behavioral Disorders
Library has 1995 - current
Call Number: Periodicals RJ 499 A1 J63
Journal of Fluency
Disorders
Library has 1983 - current, 1967-1982 on microfilm
Call Number: Periodicals PRC423.A1 J6
Journal of Learning
Disabilities
Library has 1968 - current
Call Number: Periodicals LC4001 J5
Journal of Special
Education
Library has 1975-current
Call Number: Periodicals LC4001 J6
Journal of Speech,
Language, and Hearing Research
Library has 1997-current
Call Number: Periodicals RC423 .J86
Journal of the
Association for Persons with Severe Handicaps
Library has 1993-current
Call Number: Periodicals LC4631 A75
Language, Speech
& Hearing Services in Schools
Library has 1975-1979, 1981-current; in compact stacks 1973-74
Call Number: Periodicals RC423.A1 L25
Review of Educational
Research
Library has 1977-current, 1931-1990 in microfilm
Call Number: Periodicals L11 R35
Review of Research
in Education
Library has volumes 1-9, 12,13,15,16,20-23
Call Number: Books LB1028 R43 (these are located in Books)
Seminars in Speech
and Language
Library has 1983-current
Call Number: Periodicals RC423.A1 S442
Teaching Exceptional
Children
Library has 75/76-current, 68/69-74/75 in compact stacks
Call Number: Periodicals LC3950 T4
Topics in Early
Childhood Special Education
Library has 1994-current
Call Number: Periodicals LC4019.2 T66
POLLAK LIBRARY
CATALOG
The library's catalog contains the holdings for all materials in the Fullerton
campus library (books, periodicals, videos, documents, etc.). Check to see if
the library has the periodicals for the citations that you are interested in.
A feature on the catalog is Link+. Link+ allows you to check the holdings of
participating California State Universities and other schools and libraries
for book materials that are not available at Fullerton (this also includes if
the item is checked out or missing). Link+ gives you the option to order
the item online. Items are delivered to the campus library. You
can check if your item is in at the Circulation counter (1st Floor, Library
South).
CSUF:
POLLAK LIBRARY JOURNAL TITLES
This is a link to what journals the library has available from its databases.
You can search by entering the name of the journal in the search box or by clicking
on the alphabetical links. This site can only be accessed by using computers
on campus or the library proxy server from off campus.
ORDERING INTERLIBRARY LOANS
Students may also order items that are not available at Fullerton, via interlibrary
loan. Order interlibrary loans via the ILLiad
link from the library home page.
Remember ILL can only be used for items not in the library.