|
- "Impacts of Abstinence Education on Teen Sexual Activity, Risk of
Pregnancy, and Risk of Sexually Transmitted Diseases," Journal of
Policy Analysis and Management, v. 27, is. 2 (2008), pp. 255-276. Full text
available in database Wiley Interscience.
- "Abstinence-Only
and Comprehensive Sex Education and the Initiation of Sexual Activity
and Teen Pregnancy," Journal of Adolescent Health, v. 42. is. 4,
pp. 344-351, April 2008.
Full text PDF-8 pages.
-
"The Effects of Unintended Pregnancy on Infant, Child, and Parental
Health: A Review of the Literature," Studies in Family Planning,
v. 39. is. 1, pp. 18-38, March 2008. Available full text in
Blackwell Synergy.
-
Estimated Pregnancy Rates by Outcome for the United States, 1990-2004
(April 14, 2008) PDF-26 pages (National Vital Statistics Reports)
- "Abstinence-only and comprehensive sex education and the initiation of
sexual activity and teen pregnancy." Journal of Adolescent Health,
April 2008, 42(4), 344-351. Available full text in Science Direct.
-
Teen
Birth Rises for First Time in 14 Years (2007)
-
Birth Rates in
California (includes teen births data) (2007) [PPIC]
-
Report
Released on Four Title V Section 510 Abstinence Education Programs
(2007) HHS
Full Report
|
Summary
-
Impacts of Four Title V Section 510 Abstinence Education Programs (2007)
PDF-167 pages
-
Guttmacher
Institute: Adolescents
-
"Teen Sex,"
CQ Researcher, September 16,
2005
-
Teenagers in the United States: Sexual Activity, Contraceptive Use, and
Childbearing, 2002 (2004)
-
Adolescent Pregnancy and Childbearing in California (2003) [CRB]
PDF-59 pages
-
Maternity Before Maturity: Teen Birth Rates in California (2003)
PDF-25 pages.
-
National
Survey of Teens: Teens Talk About Dating, Intimacy, and Their Sexual
Experiences
-
Teen
Birth Rises for First Time in 14 Years (2007)
-
Birth Rates in
California (includes teen births data) (2007) [PPIC]
-
California & Orange County
Statistics
-
Guttmacher Institute: Publications
-
U.S.
Teenage Pregnancy Statistics: National and State Trends and Trends by
Race and Ethnicity [PDF] September 2006
-
Pregnancies, births, miscarriages, and abortions:
Facts on
American Teens' Sexual and Reproductive Health (2006)
-
Trends
From 1976-2003 in Pregnancy, Birth and Abortion Rates in Teens 15–17
Years, Source: MMWR, February 4, 2005 / 54(04);100
-
Unintended and Teen Pregnancy (current reports) [CDC]
-
Teenagers in the United States: Sexual Activity, Contraceptive Use, and
Childbearing, 2002 (2004)
-
Teens Delaying Sexual Activity;
Using
Contraception More Effectively (Dec 2004)
-
Facts and Stats
[National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy]
-
Teen Births [FastStats]
-
"Teenage Birthrate
Hit a Record Low in 2002," Los Angeles Times,
July 16, 2004.
-
Teenage Births in the
United States: State Trends, 1991-2000 (2002)
PDF-4
pages
-
Teen Pregnancy,
Birth and Abortion: Fact Sheet (age & ethnicity data) (2002)
-
Teen
Pregnancy & Birth Data (2002)
-
Births to Teenagers in the
United States, 1940-2000
PDF-24
pages
-
Trends
in Sexual Risk Behaviors Among High School Students --- United States,
1991--2001 (race data & condom use) (2002)
-
America's
Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being Online:
HTML
Print: DOCS/US
PR 42.8:C 43/2003 Discussion and statistics including Health
Indicators (teen births).
- Trends in Pregnancy
Rates for the United States, 1976-97 (2001)
PDF-10 pages
- Pregnancy Rates
and Outcomes: Trends
in Pregnancies and Pregnancy Rates by Outcomes, 1976-1996
PDF-56
pages
- State data: Variations in
Teenage Birth Rates, 1991-98: National and State Trends
PDF-14
pages
- Trends 1930-1994:
Trends in Marital Status of U.S. Women at First Birth: 1930 to 1994
(1998)
- Trends 1976-97: Trends in
Pregnancies and Pregnancy Rates by Outcome: Estimates for the U.S.
1976-97
PDF-56
pages |
CATALOG RECORD
-
Teen Births Drop to Lowest
Rate in 60 Years
- Births to Unmarried
Mothers, United States, 1980-92
PDF-62
pages |
CATALOG RECORD
- Health and Healthcare in
the United States: County and Metro Area Data [annual]
CATALOG RECORD.
Note: Orange County
data on page 26 / LA
data on page 357, California
data
on page 19
- Statistical Abstract of
the United States [annual]. In INDEX, see "Birth and birth rates."
HTML |
CATALOG RECORD
- Fullerton, Santa
Ana: Births
to Teenage Mothers by Cities of 100,000 or More [includes Fullerton and
Santa Ana], Vital Statistics of the United States, Volume 1,
Natality, 1993. DOCS/US HE 20.6210:V.1/1993, page 156
- Educational
Outcomes:
Teenage Pregnancy and the Welfare Reform Debate [educational
outcomes for teenage mothers]
- Trends: Trends in the Well-Being of America's Children and Youth (annual)
- Online:
2003 Internet
Version
Online:
Gale Virtual Reference Library
[CSUF only]
Gale
Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence (1998) REFERENCE HQ772 .G27 1998
CATALOG RECORD
CSU IRVINE/REF HQ772 .G27 1998
Girlhood in
America [See Teen Pregnancy] (2000) REFERENCE HQ777 .G5745 2001 V. 1-2
CATALOG RECORD
Encyclopedia of Social Issues (1997)
REFERENCE HN57 .E59 1997 CATALOG
RECORD
Sexually Transmitted Diseases: Sourcebook REFERENCE
RC200.2 .S387 2001 CATALOG
RECORD
Statistical
Handbook on Adolescents in America (1996) REFERENCE HQ796 .S8237 1996
CATALOG RECORD
|
 Below is a list of
recent books. To
find additional books in Pollak Library,
search
the Library Catalog
by the
subjects listed here:
|
- Background & Statistics:
- Trends in the Well-Being of America's Children and Youth (annual)
- Online:
2003 Internet
Version
Background & Overview (Green Book):
Data on Nonmarital Births to Adults and Teenagers and Federal
Strategies to Reduce Nonmarital Pregnancies: Appendix
M (September 22, 2003)
PDF-14 pages
Teenagers in the United States: Sexual Activity, Contraceptive Use, and
Childbearing, 2002 (2004)
Does Watching Sex on
Television Influence Teens’ Sexual Activity?
[RAND] (2004) Full text:
Pediatrics,
Vol. 114 No. 3 September 2004, pp. e280-e289
Trends
in Sexual Risk Behaviors Among High School Students --- United States,
1991--2001
(race data & condom use) (2002)
Teen Pregnancy,
Birth and Abortion: Fact Sheet (age & ethnicity
data) (2002) [SIECUS]
Promoting Responsible Fatherhood
[HHS Fact Sheet] (2002)
Reducing the Risk:
Connections That Make A Difference in the Lives of Our Youth
PDF-40 pages
Understanding the
Sexual Behavior of Adolescents [RAND] (2002)
.
Adolescent Pregnancy and
Parenting: Findings from a Racially Diverse Sample
CATALOG RECORD
Adolescent Sex,
Contraception, and Childbearing
CATALOG RECORD
Adolescent Sexual
Behavior and Childbearing
CATALOG RECORD
Beginning Too Soon:
Adolescent Sexual Behavior, Pregnancy, & Parenthood
CATALOG RECORD
Best Intentions:
Unintended Pregnancy and the Well-Being of Children and Families
CATALOG RECORD
California Strategies to
Address Teenage Pregnancy Issue Brief
CATALOG RECORD
Causes of Poverty,
with a Focus on Out-of-Wedlock Births
CATALOG RECORD
Compendium of School-Based
and School-Linked Programs for Pregnant and Parenting Adolescents
(1999)
Condom
Effectiveness for Sexually Transmitted Disease (STD)
Protection (2000)
PDF-49
pages
Decade of Denial: Teens
and AIDS in America
CATALOG RECORD
Fertility, Family
Planning, and Women's Health
CATALOG RECORD &
INTERNET LINK
Educational Outcomes:
Teenage Pregnancy and the Welfare Reform Debate [educational
outcomes for teenage mothers]
How Will We Care for Our
Children? Adolescent Pregnancy and Public Policy in California
CATALOG RECORD
Implementation of the
Abstinence Education Provisions in the Welfare Reform Act
CATALOG RECORD
Male teens:
Involving Males in
Preventing Teen Pregnancy [Urban
Institute]
Less Sexual Activity,
More Education, Changes in Contraception Key to Declining Teen Birth
Rates
PDF-2 pages
Teen fathers:
Nurturing Fatherhood:
Improving Data and Research on Male Fertility, Family Formation and
Fatherhood
Condom use:
Pregnancies
Averted by U.S. Teenagers by Use of Condoms (1999)
Educational
Outcomes:
School-Based and School-Linked Programs for Pregnant and Parenting Teens
and Their Children (1999) [statistics
on
educational outcomes of teenage mothers]
Social and Economic Costs
of Teen Pregnancy: Hearing
CATALOG RECORD
Strong School, Family
Ties Protect Teens from Violence, Drugs, Suicide, and Early Sex
PDF-2
pages
Surgeon General
report:
Surgeon General's Call to Action to Promote Sexual Health and
Responsible Sexual Behavior (2001)
PDF-33 pages
Risk factors: Teen Mothers:
Selected Socio-Demographic Characteristics and Risk Factors
CATALOG RECORD
Teen Parents and Welfare
Reform
CATALOG RECORD
Teen fathers:
Teenage
Fatherhood and Delinquent Behavior
CATALOG
RECORD
Congressional hearings: Teenage Pregnancy:
Hearings
CATALOG
RECORD
Teenage Pregnancy: The
Economic and Social Costs
CATALOG RECORD
Trends in Pregnancies
and Pregnancy Rates by Outcome: Estimates for the U.S. 1976-97
CATALOG RECORD &
INTERNET LINK
Variations in Teenage
Birth Rates, 1991-98: National and State Trends
PDF-14
pages
Welfare to Work:
Approaches that Help Teenage Mothers Complete High School
CATALOG RECORD
Contraceptive
use:
Why is
Teenage Pregnancy Declining? The Roles of Abstinence, Sexual Activity
and Contraceptive Use (1999)
The Youngest
Parents: Teenage Pregnancy as it Shapes Lives
CATALOG RECORD

To find
articles, search Pollak Library's
subscription databases. The links below will take you to a list of
relevant databases.
Databases--Statistics
Databases--Current Issues
Databases--Scholarly Journals
Databases--Newspapers
Databases--Government Sources
CQ Researcher articles of note:
- Fatherhood Movement, Jan.
2, 2000
- Encouraging Teen
Abstinence, Jan. 9, 1998
- Preventing Teen
Pregnancy, May 15, 1993
Articles
of special note:
top
"Impacts of Abstinence Education on Teen Sexual Activity, Risk of
Pregnancy, and Risk of Sexually Transmitted Diseases," Journal of
Policy Analysis and Management, v. 27, is. 2, pp. 255-276. Full text
available in database Wiley Interscience.
"The Effects of Unintended Pregnancy on Infant, Child, and Parental
Health: A Review of the Literature," Studies in Family Planning,
v. 39. is. 1, pp. 18-38, March 2008. Available full text in
database
Wiley Interscience.
"Abstinence-Only
and Comprehensive Sex Education and the Initiation of Sexual Activity
and Teen Pregnancy," Journal of Adolescent Health, v. 42. is.
4, pp. 344-351 (April 2008).
Full text PDF-8 pages. Also available full text in
database Science Direct
Sexually Transmitted Diseases [links to many reports and articles
from MEDLINE Plus]
"Seeking to Help Teenage Latinas Avoid
Pregnancy," Los Angeles Times, May 19, 2002, Part 2, Page 1.
For full text, search
Los Angeles Times
by Article Title.
Youth
Risk Behavior Surveillance--United States, 2003 [EDIT/Find:
sexual behaviors]
Relationship Dynamics, Ethnicity and Condom Use Among Low-Income Women
Family Planning Perspectives [Alan Guttmacher Institute],
Volume 32, No. 2, March/April 2000 [Available online only]
"The AIDS Prevention
Magic Show: Avoiding the Tragic with Magic" Public Health Reports, March 1994, vol. 109, no. 2, p. 162 DOCS/US HE 20.30:109/2 page 162
"Factors
Influencing First Intercourse for Teenage Men" Public Health Reports, Nov 1993, p. 680
DOCS/US HE 20.30:108/6 page 680
"Youth Beliefs and
Knowledge About the Risks of Drinking While Pregnant" Public Health Reports, Nov/Dec 1995, pp. 754-763 DOCS/US HE 20.110/6 page 754
Adolescent Pregnancy and Childbearing in
California (2003) [CRB]
PDF-59 pages
Maternity
Before Maturity: Teen Birth Rates in California (2003)
PDF-25 pages
"Prospects
for O.C.'s Youth on the Rise," Statistics on
gang violence, teen pregnancy,
child abuse, child care
costs, and more. Los Angeles Times, September 24, 2003, Wednesday,
Orange County Edition, Part 2 Page 3.
Statistics—California
& Orange County:
Rand California [CSUF ONLY]
Statistics—Orange
County & Cities:
County & City Birth Data
Statistics—Orange
County: County Health Status Profiles (in 2001 ed., see page 51)
CATALOG RECORD
Statistics—California: Healthy
California 2000: Mid-Course Review [discussion and statistics on teen
birth rates by age and race/ethnicity of mother]
CATALOG RECORD
Statistics—California,
Orange County, & Los Angeles:
Health and Healthcare in the United States: County and Metro Area Data
[annual]
CATALOG RECORD
[Note: In 2000 edition,
Orange County
data is on page 26 / LA
data on page 316, California
data on page 19]
Statistics—U.S. & California: National and State-Specific Pregnancy Rates Among Adolescents—United
States, 1995-1997
Statistics—U.S. & California: Variations in Teenage Birth Rates, 1991-98: National and State
Trends
PDF-14 pages
Teenagers' Pregnancy Intentions and
Decisions: A Study of Young Women in California Choosing to Give Birth [discussion and statistics](1999)
"The
State Teen Birth Rate Drops Nearly
One-Third in Decade Pregnancy: Figure mirrors a national trend of youths
having less sex, using more contraceptives, health officials say. Latina
rate remains high" [statistics]. Los Angeles Times, Home Edition, April
4, 2002, Page B-7.
"State's Children Facing Fewer Risks, Study Says:
Safety:
Annual survey reports declines in child abuse, gun injuries and
teen births. School performance
remains a cause for concern," Los Angeles Times, Wednesday, November 28,
2001, Home Edition, Part 2 Page 3. This article summarizes findings from the California Report Card 2001.
California Vital
Statistics [annual]
CATALOG RECORD
"Seeking to Help Teenage
Latinas Avoid Pregnancy,"
Los Angeles Times, May 19, 2002, Part 2, Page 1.
"A Cry to Save Lives of 'Dumpster Babies'; Advocates are publicizing
a new law that will allow mothers to anonymously leave babies at
hospitals," Los Angeles Times, Home Edition, Page E1, Dec 31, 2000.
"Sliding Teen Births Not
Due to One Cause: Sex: Reasons Include Better Communication, Fear of
Disease, Peer Pressure, Career Goals, Abstinence Courses," Orange
County Register, August 9, 2000, Morning Edition, page A10.
For full text, search
ProQuest Newspapers by Article Title.
Births to Teenage
Mothers by Cities of 100,000 or More (includes Fullerton
and Santa Ana),
Vital Statistics of the United States, Volume 1, Natality,
1993,
DOCS/US
HE 20.6210:V.1/1993, page 156
California Strategies to
Address Teenage Pregnancy Issue Brief
CATALOG
RECORD
County Health Status
Profiles [annual] [in 2001 ed., see page 51]
CATALOG RECORD
Leading Health
Indicators for California
CATALOG RECORD
Health Data Summaries
for California Counties [annual] [Orange
County]
CATALOG RECORD
How Will We Care for Our
Children? Adolescent Pregnancy and Public Policy in California
CATALOG RECORD
"More Teenage Girls are
Waiting to Have Children,"
Los Angeles Times, May 21, 1999,
page B2. Note:
National, California, and Orange County
birthrate statistics are given.
Orange Countywide
Health Needs Assessment
CATALOG RECORD
"Teen Pregnancies
Decline to 1973 Low," LA Times, April 29, 1999, page A5.
"Teen Pregnancies Take Biggest Drop in 25 Years," Los Angeles Times,
Nov 1, 1997, page A1 (Metro Desk).
Trends in California's
Teen Births, 1986-1996
CATALOG RECORD
|