Web Sites
        TESOL: Library Research Guide

Main Page


There are lots of great web sites on the Internet relating to TESOL:  sites of professional organizations, sites of ESL resources, etc.    Below is a list of some useful/popular TESOL/ESL sites.  This list is by no means comprehensive, so If you have additional sites you would like to add to this list, submit them: -->  jhickok@fullerton.edu

 

bulletProfessional Sites

TESOL- The Web site to TESOL, the national professional organization for TESOL.
www.tesol.org

CATESOL- The Web site to the state chapter of TESOL.
www.catesol.org

CALICO - The Computer Assisted Language Instruction Consortium.
http://calico.org/

IATEFL - International Association of Teachers of English as a Foreign Language.
www.iatefl.org

NCBE - National Clearinghouse for Bilingual Education.  Supported by the Dept. of Education to provide resources for bilingual ed.
www.ncbe.gwu.edu/

NCESLL - National clearinghouse for ESL Literacy Education
www.cal.org/ncle

bulletFree-access TESOL E-journals

TESL-EJ (TESL Electronic Journal) - free-access peer-reviewed e-journal of articles on TESOL research/ practice.  Hosted by UC Berkeley Writing Program.
http://cwp60.berkeley.edu:16080/tesl-ej/

Bilingual Research Journal - free-access peer-reviewed e-journal; equivalent of paper journal co-produced by the National Clearinghouse for Bilingual Education.
http://brj.asu.edu/

Language, Learning, & Technology - free-access peer-reviewed e-journal on technology issues in language learning.  Hosted by Michigan State University.
http://llt.msu.edu/

Internet TESL Journal - submitted articles by/for ESL teachers; some research articles, but more classroom/application topics: lessons, activities, etc. (Note: despite the title "journal", not a peer-reviewed journal).
www.aitech.ac.jp/~iteslj

CALL EJ Online - free-access peer-reviewed e-journal on topics of Computer Assisted Language Learning.  Hosted by Japanese & Australian universities.
http://www.clec.ritsumei.ac.jp/english/callejonline/index.html

Asian EFL journal - free-access peer-reviewed e-journal on issues of teaching EFL in Asian / to Asian students.
http://www.asian-efl-journal.com/

Journal of Language & Linguistics; Journal of Language & Learning - two free-access peer-reviewed e-journals on linguistics topics.
http://www.jllonline.net/

Web Journal of Modern Language Linguistics (WJMLL) - free-access peer-reviewed e-journal on linguistics topics.  Hosted by U. of Newcastle on Tyne (UK).
http://wjmll.ncl.ac.uk/

Second Language Studies - submitted articles by PhD students & faculty at U. of Hawaii Dept. of Second Language Studies (Note: not a peer-reviewed journal).
http://www.hawaii.edu/sls/uhwpesl/on-line_cat.html

ESL Magazine - free-access to selected articles from this magazine (not all articles).  Note: not a peer-reviewed journal.
http://www.eslmag.com/

bullet

Resource Sites

Dave's ESL Cafe - Popular ESL resource site for both students and teachers.
www.eslcafe.com

Aardvark's English Forum - compilation of wide variety of ESL resources for teachers.
www.englishforum.com

ESL Gold - a resource site offering activities, exercises, lesson plans, links, etc. for both students and teachers.  Has a wide variety.
http://www.eslgold.com

ESL Flow - resource site for teachers on creating ESL/EFL lesson plans...including grammar, pronunciation, role plays, listening activities, etc.
www.eslflow.com

English Club - large site of resources...activities, lessons, etc.
www.englishclub.net

English Maze - large site with lesson, resources, etc. for teachers, and activities, quizzes, etc. for students.
www.englishmaze.com

ESL Monkeys - a multipurpose site for both students (activities, quizzes, etc.) and teachers (lessons, job board, etc.).  Created by two current ESL teachers.
http://www.eslmonkeys.com

Interesting Things for ESL Students - large site of resources...activities,  lessons, etc.  Hosted/compiled by EFL Instructors at Aichi Inst. of Tech., Japan.
www.manythings.org

Lesson Plans & Resources for ESL Teachers - a good compilation of ESL links created by emeriti ESL teacher at Cal State Northridge.
www.csun.edu/~hcedu013/eslindex.html

The Linguist List - site maintained by Eastern Michigan U. & Wayne State U.; impressive amount of links to ESL resources
www.emich.edu/~linguist/esl.html

TEFL.Net - Site especially dedicated to links & resources for teaching English as a Foreign language.
www.tefl.net/

1-Language.com - Multiple resource site.  For students: quizzes, chat, activities, etc.; For teachers: job bank, lesson ideas, etc.
www.1-language.com/

Slangcity.com - Informative for ESL students on American slang words, expressions, and song lyrics, including gradations of offensiveness.
www.slangcity.com
 

bullet

Online Activities (multimedia/interactive)

Randall's ESL Cyber Listening Lab - allows students to hear audio and take listening comprehension quizzes
www.esl-lab.com/

Real English - Interactive Online Video - allows students to see streaming video clips of conversations and take accompanying comprehension quizzes.  (email request for password is required, but free).
http://www.real-english.com/

The Listening Lounge - similar.
www.Englishlistening.com/

Kent Trickel's Activities for ESL Students - similar
http://grove.ufl.edu/~ktrickel/activity.html

bullet

Employment Sites

ESL Employment.com - Large, free database of jobs (over 4500) for ESL instructors, posted by employers from all around the world.
www.eslemployment.com

English Job Maze - A site of job postings for ESL & TESOL instructors, searchable by country.
www.englishjobmaze.com

Edufind - Another site of worldwide job postings, searchable by country (maintained by a British educational service).
www.jobs.edufind.com

TeachingEnglish.ca - Another site of worldwide job postings, searchable by country (maintained by Canadian ESL instructors).
www.teachingenglish.ca

Tesall - A search engine of worldwide ESL job postings on the Internet.  It searches job postings at many websites (based on your keywords), and then displays the links.
http://www.tesall.com/

ESLZ - Another search engine of worldwide ESL jobs.  Offers extra features, such as email job-match service, job tracker, resume posting, etc.
http://www.eslz.com

bullet

ESL Publishers Sites

Brokers (offer various products from multiple publishers)

ALTA ESL
(located in bay area; largest & most comprehensive broker)
www.altaesl.com

Delta Systems
(large broker, competitive with Alta; all types of materials and age ranges)
www.delta-systems.com

Miller Educational Materials
(located in Orange County; strong in Elementary ESL)
www.millereducational.com

Saddelback Educational
(located in Orange County; strong in Elementary ESL)
www.sdlback.com

Multi-Cultural Books & Videos
(offers ESL materials, but also materials for learning OTHER languages)
www.multiculturalbooksandvideos.com

Publishers (publish various products: textbooks, dictionaries, resources, etc.)

Longman
(large ESL publisher; the following publisher names are affiliated/synonymous with Longman: Prentice-Hall, Scott-Foresman, Addison-Wesley, Penguin; corporate parent is "Pearson Education, INc.")
www.longman.com

Heinle & Heinle
(large ESL publisher; the following publisher name is affiliated/synonymous with Heninle & Heinle: Newbury-House; corporate parent is "Thompson learning, Inc.")
www.heinle.com

Oxford University Press
(large ESL publisher; Picture Dictionary set is their most famous product)
www.oup.com/us/esl

Cambridge ESL
(various products, but strong in academic/linguistic materials)
www.cambridge.org/esl-efl

TESOL
(various products, but strong in TESOL teacher training)
www.tesol.org/pubs/catalog/index.html

McGraw-Hill/Contemporary
(all products)
www.mcgraw-hillcontemporary.com

Dominie Press
(all products)
www.dominie.com

University of Michigan Press
(all products)
www.press.umich.edu/esl/

Ballard & Tighe
(strong in testing materials)
www.ballard-tighe.com

Steck-Vaughn
(strong in adult & vocational ESL)
www.steck-vaughn.com

New Readers Press
(strong in literacy, reading, & vocational/CBE ESL)
www.newreaderspress.com/index_h.html

Pro Lingua Associates
(strong in Elementary and Activity books)
www.prolinguaassociates.com

Barrons
(consumer-oriented publisher; strong in test-prep)
http://www.barronseduc.com/english-language-arts.html

Multimedia Publishers (includes videos, cassettes, software, etc.)

Slangman Publishing
(Dictionaries, videos, texts on American slang)
www.slangman.com

Educational Testing Service (ETS)
(Authoritative TOEFL test-prep materials)
www.ets.org/store.html

Sunburst Media
(multimedia materials on ESL pronunciation, accent reduction, etc.)
www.sunburstmedia.com

Video Language Products
(multimedia materials on ESL pronunciation, accent reduction, etc.)
www.videolanguage.com

Crossroads Video
(multimedia materials on ESL pronunciation, accent reduction, etc.)
www.crossroadsvideo.com

Transparent Language
(software on learning different languages, including ESL)
www.transparent.com

Rosetta Stone
(software on learning different languages, including ESL)
http://www.rosettastone.com/home/catalog

Audio Forum
(cassette tapes on learning different languages, including ESL)
http://www.audioforum.com/

 

bullet

Sellers of ESL materials in Native languages

Online Yellow Pages exist for several language communities in the USA.  By going to these and doing a search for "bookstores," you can find local, retail bookstores that carry ESL books in native languages.

Japanese
Japanese Yellow Pages USA
    www.ypj.com/en/areasearch2.asp?area=Los+Angeles
Japanese USA Telephone directory
    www.telephoneguide.com/LAB.htm

Chinese
Chinese Yellow Pages USA: http://cypn.com/listing/ch411.htm

Korean
Koreanstore: Business Directory (preselected to Bookstores)
    www.koreanstore.com/html/la/sa/la_sa_03.htm

KoreanYellowPages.com  (can limit to L.A.; Korean font needed)
    www.koreanyellowpage.com

Thai
Thai Yellow Pages USA: www.thaiyellowpagesusa.com

Vietnamese
Vietgate Yellow Pages USA: www.vietgate.net/marketplace/yellow_pages/
Vietnamese Yellow Pages USA: www.inforvn.com/yellowpage/index.php

Filipino
Filipino Business Directory USA: www.propinoy.com

All Asian
Asian Business Directory (L.A.)-- www.asianbizguide.com/

Latino/Chicano/Hispanic
No L/C/H Yellow Pages currently exists for the L.A./O.C. area. However, prominent Spanish-language bookstores for the two counties are:
    OC: Martinez Books, www.latinobooks.com
    LA: Expresso Mi Cultura, www.espressomicultura.com/books.html

 


 *Submissions for additional links welcome. *

 

Prepared by:
John Hickok, TESOL Librarian
A page of the Pollak Library, California State University, Fullerton.
©2005 All rights reserved.