Books Articles Journals Reference Reviews  Graduate Web Sites Classes Home

Articles

Journal Articles Articles from scholarly or professional journals are good sources for current research in a particular discipline or field. Journal articles are usually written by professors or researchers working within academic institutions.  The audience for journal articles is college students, professional colleagues and others researchers. Journal articles are often narrower in scope than books and will present the results of research within a very specific area. 
Magazine Articles Magazines articles are useful for brief, introductory information.  They are usually written by reporters or professional writers and are directed at a general audience.  Often the purpose of magazine articles is primarily to entertain and only secondarily to inform. Magazine articles are generally not used as a source of information in research papers.  However, magazines can provide a good source of performance reviews
Newspaper Articles Newspapers articles are good sources for current, general information and can be a source of current statistics. They are written by reporters for a general audience.  Newspaper articles are especially useful for their day-to-day focus on events and can be a good source of performance reviews.

How to tell the difference between journals, popular magazines and trade magazines.

To find articles on a specific topic, consult one or more of the indexes below:

  To access the databases in the field of theatre
Academic Search Premier
  • this database is a good source for a wide range of popular and current topics.
  • Indexes 1,550 journals and magazines, from 1980 to current date
  • Contains some abstracts and some full-text (which means the actual article is included)
  • Sample search: acting-technique
Music and Performing Arts Online
  • Includes International Index of Performing Arts:  240 international periodicals, plus full text for 84 journals
  • Includes International Index of Music Periodicals: 430 international music periodicals, plus full text for 110 journals in the field of theatre.
  • Covers all aspects of Performing Arts; including theatre, drama, dance, music
  • Contains some abstracts and some full-text (which means the actual article is included)
OmniFile Full Text Mega
  • Combined search of 11 different databases
  • Great source for full text
  • Includes Business, Art, Readers Guide, Social Sciences, Humanities and more
Art Abstracts
  • Theater students would be interested in this database for its coverage of the artistic aspects costumes, set design, make-up, acting, theater and more.
  • Covers the years 1984 to present, with abstracts from the year 1994 to present
  • Sample search: Theater and criticism
MLA
  • Modern Language Association Database
  • Primarily useful for its extensive listing of worldwide literature criticism and interpretation
  • Contains scholarly research in journals, monographs, working papers, bibliographies and more
  • Cover the years 1963 to present
  • Sample Search: Hamlet and characterization
Humanities Abstracts
  • Search this database for research articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies and reviews of plays, television and radio programs in the broad field of Humanities.
  • Contains articles since 1984, abstracts are included from 1994 only, updated monthly
  • Sample search: Doll's House and Ibsen
Literature Resource Center
  • This is a full text database of literature database which contains biographical information on authors, criticism of their work, bibliographies of the author's work, work overviews, and  periodical articles.
  • It is especially useful to theatre majors for the coverage of playwrights
LexisNexis
  • A massive database known for full-text of newspapers, business, legal and medical sources.
  • Click on News, Click on Arts and Sports
  • Contains full-text of movie, music, and play reviews and entertainment news,
  • Sample search: Vincent and Nimoy
New York Times, Historical
  • A massive database of full/text full image news paper articles
  • Contain articles back to 1864
  • Contains image of advertisements also
  • Can search for single words within the text
Los Angeles Times, Historical
  • A massive database of full/text full image news paper articles
  • Contain articles back to 1884
  • Contains image of advertisements also
  • Can search for single words within the text
Times of London, Historical
  • Digitized files of newspaper articles from the Times
  • fully searchable
  • Includes advertisements
  • Contains articles back 1785-through 1985
  • Includes performance reviews
Applied Science and Technology
  • This database provide information on the scientific and technological fields.
  • Theater students would be interested in this database for its coverage of stage setting, lighting, special effects, and other technological innovations that effect the theater.
  • Dates includes are 1983-present, with abstracts from 1994 to the present
  • Sample search: stage lighting

    Note: All of the above databases can be searched at home by current CSUF students.

Home Pollak Library  Questions? Theater Department CSUF Arts Events
This site is prepared and maintained by Cynthia Bruns,  Reference Librarian, Pollak Library, California State University Fullerton, Last updated:11/26/07 
Return to Top of Page