Books Articles Journals Reference Reviews  Graduate Web Sites Classes Home

Reference Sources
The reference books are kept on the first floor of Pollak Library, North Wing. They consist of dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, directories, and more.  A small selection of the recent Reference books which might be of special interest to the Theater student are listed below. Reference books are especially useful as a quick look-up, an explanation of theory, for contact information and are a great source of ideas for papers


These books are shelved in Reference Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
PN2035 .O84 2001 Acting : An International Encyclopedia
PN2035 B74 1994 Brewer's Theater : a Phrase and Fable Dictionary
F128.65.T5 B56 2004 Broadway : Its History, People, And Places : An Encyclopedia
PN 2035 C27 1995 The Cambridge Guide to theatre, Martin Banham, ed.
HF 5382.5 U5 C32 Career Information Center: Communication and the Arts, volume 3, 1996.
ML 1711.8 N3 N67 A Chronology of American Musical Theater, 3 volumes, 2002
HF 5381 E52 2000 Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, Holli R. Cosgrove, editor, vol.1-4
PN2091.E4 B66 2003 Encyclopedia of Stage Lighting by Jody Briggs
GT 510 R3313 1988 Historical Encyclopedia of Costumes by Albert Racinet
PN 2035 H297 1998 The Language of theatre / Martin Harrison
PN 2220 B6 The Oxford Companion to American Theatre by Gerald Bordman 1992, 2004, online
website Performing Arts Encyclopedia Library of Congress website which will search the American Memory Project for primary research materials in theatre, music and dance topics.
HF 5382.5 U5 P76 Professional Careers Sourcebook: Where to find Help in Planning Careers that Require College or Technical Degrees,  Christine Maurer and Kathleen M. Savage, editors. 2000
PN 2091 M3 L68 1989 Theatre Backstage from A to Z, a Dictionary for Theatre Sound, Electronic Control and Equipment.
PN 2052 T48 1986 Theatre Companies of the World, Colby H. Kullman, 2 volumes
PN 2091 E4 W4 Theater Lighting: An Illustrated Glossary
PN 1861 W67 1994 World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre by Don Rubin, volume 1-6

 

Research Guides
ML 128 M78 D48 Broadway Song Companion: An Annotated Guide to Musical Theater Literature by voice type and song style, 1998
PN 1625 M37 1990 MasterPlots: Drama Series, This four volume set contains a synopsis of the plots of plays
PN 1584z S56 1994 The Performing Arts: A Guide to the Reference Literature by Linda Keir Simons
PN 1584z W5, 5th floor South Performing Arts Research: A Guide to Information Sources by Marion K. Whalon,

 

Handbooks and Almanacs
PN 2091 S8 C327 Backstage Handbook: An Illustrated Almanac of Technical Information by Paul Carter ( also referred to as The Techie Bible.
PN 3157 I58 1990 International Guide to Children's Theatre and Educational Theatre : a Historical and Geographical Source book, edited by Lowell Swortzell.
PN 2266 H53 1997 The Theatregoer's Almanac : a Collection of Lists, People, History, and Commentary on the American Theatre / Thomas S. Hischak

 

Vocational Guidance
PN2055 .D48 Actors' Resumes: the Definitive Guidebook
PN 1580F5 Career Opportunities in Theater and the Performing Arts by Shelly Field, 1999
HF 5381 E52 Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance by Holli R. Cosgrove, volumes1-4
PN 2074 G66 Great Jobs for Theater Majors by Jan Gildberg
PN 2053 S68 Stage Directors Handbook : Opportunities for Directors and Choreographers by the Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation
 PN1580 .R47 2004  Resumes for Performing Arts Careers with Sample Cover Letters by the editors of VGM Career Books

 

Biographical Information
PN 2597 H5 Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers and Other Stage Personnel in London 1660-1800, volumes 1-14.
PN 2096 A1 L33 1990 Biographical Dictionary of Scenographers: 500 B.C. to 1900 A.D. by Robin Thurlow Lacy
Online database Biography and Genealogy Master Index (online database to who's who-type sources)
Online database Biography Index
PN 2285 C58 Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television, volumes 1-29, 1984 to current date
PR 737 C57 1999 Contemporary Dramatists, 1999, Thomas Riggs, editor
PR 736 C58 1994 Contemporary Women Dramatists, 1994, K.A. Berney, editor
PN 1998.2 B368 1995 Illustrated Who's Who of Hollywood Directors
PN 2035 I49 1992 International Dictionary of Theater, vol.1. Plays, vol. 2 Playwrights, vol 3 Actors, Directors and designers. This set contains biographical information and list of roles or work.
Online Source Literature Resource Center This is an online database which contains full-text biographical information on authors, including playwrights.
PN 2091 E4 O94 1991 Lighting Design on Broadway: Designers and Their Credits: 1915-1990
Online database Marquis Whos Who Online
PN 2096 A1 O94 1991 Scenic Design on Broadway: Designers and Their Credits, 1915-1990
PN 2012 W5 Who's Who in the Theatre, we have miscellaneous years from 1930-1981, (continued by Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television)
PN 2597 W52 Who was Who in the Theatre: 1912-1976 volumes 1-4 (Continued by Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television)

 

Monologues
PN 2080 M372 1996 Classical Audition speeches for Men by Jean Marlow
PN 2080 M2752 1996 Classical Audition Speeches for Women by Jean Marlow
PN 2080G84 1988 Guide to Monologues: Men: An Index of Over 800 Monologues from Classical and Modern Plays by Robert Emerson

 

Directories
Internet
American Musical Theatre Reference Library This site is basically a directory of contact information for theatre professionals and their shows.
PN 2052 P7 International Theatre Directory, 1973
PN 2289 R44 Regional Theatre Directory, 1996-1997 (includes internship information for students)

 


 
Awards
PN2270.A93 S54 1997  The Big Book of Show Business Awards by David Sheward
PN2270.A93 F68 2005 Entertainment Awards: a Music, Cinema, Theatre and Broadcasting Guide, 1928 through 2003 / Don Franks
PN 1993.92 O82 2003 75 Years of the Oscar: Official History of the Academy Awards
PN2270.A93 T6 2001  The Tony Award : a Complete Listing of Winners and Nominees of the American Theatre Wing's Tony Award with a History of the American Theatre Wing, edited by Isabelle Stevenson and Roy A. Somlyo. 1984, 2001
Home Pollak Library  Questions? Theater Department CSUF Arts Events
This site is prepared and maintained by Cynthia Bruns, Reference Librarian, Pollak Library, California State University Fullerton, Last updated:11/15/07  
Return to Top of Page