![]() |
![]() |
Reviews |
Book Reviews |
Performance Reviews: There are a number of places to look for performance reviews. The online newspaper indexes are especially helpful for recent reviews. You will find that the dates covered varies from newspaper to newspaper but the indexes often cover about the last fifteen, sometimes twenty, years. Most of the online newspaper indexes will contain full-text information, which means the actual review will appear on the computer screen. The article indexes also contain reviews. However, some of the indexes are a better source of reviews than another. The following is a list of some of the places to look for performance reviews and some hints on how best to limit and focus your search in each of these databases.
A Guide to Critical Reviews: Part 1-2....Reference PN 2266z S16
Modern Drama: Scholarship and
Criticism 1981-1990.... Reference
PN 1851 C37
A bibliography of criticism listed by
broad subject categories
Variety Film Reviews
1907-1984 Reference PN 1995 V34 The set is especially helpful for historical
research as it contains the actual reviews and not just a citation to them.
(Current reviews from Variety can be found in LexisNexis.)
Proquest
Newspapers A good source of full-text of newspaper articles.
sample search:
Theater Review and Betrayal
Hint: For information on what titles and what dates are included in this
database, click on "Browse List"
1. Do a keyword search, type in the play, performer, performance, playwright or the like
2. Limit the record type to "form review" (this is a choice on the menu next to record type)
Note: It is also possible to limit to book reviews using the same process.
2. Paper Version: Search the year the book was published and the following year. Reviews are listed alphabetically by the name of the author.
Sample search "A Life on the Stage"
![]() |
|
| Return to Top of Page |