Theatre 375
Dr. Lawrence Jasper
, Theatre Professor
Cynthia Bruns, Reference Librarian,
cbruns@fullerton.edu
California State University Fullerton, Pollak Library Home Page http://www.library.fullerton.edu

                          News!:  Pollak Library Prize for Undergraduate Research Papers and Projects

Hello Theatre 375 students,
        Dr. Jasper tells me that you have found JSTOR to be helpful.  WONDERFUL! 
        Here is a bit of information on using it,   Cynthia.

JSTOR:
Interdisciplinary archive of 1,000+ academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
NO articles published within past 3-5 years.


How to get started
1.  Start at Library home page => Click on Find Databases => Click on J (along the top) => Click on JSTOR
2.  When you get into JSTOR, click on Advanced Search
3.  Notice that the default is Full Text.  This will bring up very broad results.  Sometimes Abstract or Title is a better choice.
4.  Put your terms within quotation marks.  such as "Empty Space" or "Peter Brook"
5.  Limit your search to articles or reviews
6.  Limit to English
7.  Scroll down and you can limit to Performing Arts Journals (there are sixteen of them)
8.  You might consider sorting your results by date.  Your book was published in 1968, reissued in 1996.

Some challenges using JSTOR. 
1. It will search every word and you may get very broad results
2. Peter Brook as an author, will only bring things that Peter Brooks wrote (anybody named Peter Brook)

When you find an article that might be of some interest
1. Click on PDF  (This will bring up the entire article.)
2. To find mention of Empty Space...try the search box labeled FIND within the PDF file.


All Pollak Library subscription databases may be searched at home by current CSUF students.
Technical assistance is available at Titan Help Desk (714) 278-7777
Interlibrary Loan: Source of articles and books we do not own

Shortcuts to research: Reference Theatre books
▪ Contemporary Dramatists... Reference PR 737 C57
International Dictionary of Theatre Reference PN 2035 I49
    vol.1 Plays, vol.2 Playwrights, vol.3 Actors, Directors and Designers
▪ International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers...Reference PN 1997.8 I58 vol1-3
▪ Cambridge Guide to Theatre....Reference PN 2035 C27
▪ Critical Survey of Drama...Reference PN 1625 C68 8 vols.
▪ Oxford Companion to the Theatre... Reference PN 2035 H3x
▪ Oxford Companion to American Theatre Reference PN 2220 B6 2004
▪ Contemporary American Dramatists Reference PS 352 C65 1994
▪ Ten Modern American Playwrights Reference PS 351Z K56
▪ Twentieth-Century American Literature
Reference PS 221 T834
▪ Women Playwrights of Diversity
Reference PS 338 W6 P48
▪ Cambridge Companion to American Women Playwrights Reference PS338 W6 C36

American Theatre Companies 1749-1986, 3v, edited by Weldon B. Durham Reference PN 2266 A54
An International Dictionary Of Theatre Language
Reference PN2035 .I5 1985
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia Of World Drama: An International Reference Work, 
Ref PN1625 .M3
Theatre Language: Dictionary Of Terms In English Of The Drama And Stage...,
Ref PN2035 .B6
American playwrights, 1880-1945: a research and production sourcebook Ref  PS 351z A52 1995
North American Theatre Online
Gale Virtual Reference Library online database of Reference Books.

    includes Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television, Contemporary Fashion, American Women Writers, Major 21st-Century Writers , Reference Guide to World Literature, Shakespeare for Studentssample search Peter Brook
 


► How to find Books on Your Topic:
Library Catalog An online listing of everything the Pollak library owns
        Sample search: Keyword...Broadway New York theat*
                                Subject and Author...Brook, Peter
                                Title... The Empty Space

WorldCat: Locating books that this library does not own:
sample search: An Annotated Directory of Theatre Historians, Critics, and Theoreticians

Does the Library own this article?
Ngũgĩ wa Thiong'o,  Enactments of Power: The Politics of Performance Space, TDR, Enactments of Power: The Politics of Performance Space Vol. 41, No. 3 (Autumn, 1997), pp. 11-30


How to find book critical analysis of a book: (link to all databases)

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance  index to journal articles, books, book chapters, 
MLA Bibliography (Modern Language Abstracts) criticism and interpretation of literature and plays 
Humanities Abstracts Library owns a large percentage of the articles in this humanities database
Arts and Humanities Search
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective 1907-1984
Academic Search
Premier magazines, journals and newspapers. limit to Scholarly peer reviewed     
Music and Performing Arts Online  
 Jstor collection of full text journal articles older than five years.
  Google Scholar
          Material will need carefully evaluation. Notice the Cited By link, might be used to judge importance.
sample search:
THE RHETORIC OF THEORY, THE ROLE OF METAPHOR IN BROOK THE 'EMPTY SPACE'

Book Reviews:  You are to use use full book reviews from theatre journals
              These reviews are likely to be a couple of pages (or more)
              These reviews are likely to be critiquing the ideas/approach of the author
   Do not use reviews as found in Amazon.com, Choice Magazine, Library Journal, and popular or pulp magazines. 
Book Review Digest 1983-present date (Wilson)  Reference
Z1219 .C96
  Book Review Digest
Retrospective 1905-1982 (Wilson)
  Book Review Index (paper only)
 Reference Z1035.A1 B71
  A Guide to Book Review Citations: a Bibliography of Sources, compiled by Richard A. Gray
           4th floor South,
(paper only) Z1035.A1 G7



 

Plagiarism is defined as the act of taking the work (words, ideas, concepts, data, graphs, artistic creation) of another whether that work is paraphrased or copied in verbatim or near verbatim form and offering it as one’s own without giving credit to that source. (Academic Dishonesty UPS 300.021)

All sources of information are to be cited: Student Guide to Avoiding Plagiarism        

Product Details Pollak Library Quick Guide to the MLA Citation Style
Diana Hacker: Humanities Documenting Sources and Sample Paper

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. 2003
       a copy of this book is kept at the Reference Desk  

 

 

How to get help with library assignments: Ask a Librarian  Library has a number of ways for you to get help on your research and assignments. The first is simply to come see us at the Reference Desk.  We are glad to give assistance.  However, if you cannot come in you may also:  call us Reference Desk (714) 278-3284, or Instant Message, or 24/7 Live Chat Reference, or Email Reference, or make an Research Appointment.  Or you may directly email me at cbruns@fullerton.edu.

 

 

 

Home Library  Questions? Theatre Dept CSUF Theatre Research Guide
This site is prepared and maintained by Cynthia Bruns, CBruns@fullerton.edu, Reference Librarian, Pollak Library, California State University Fullerton, Last updated:11/12/09 
THE SEA GULL
 

 

Peter Brook:  The Empty Space, (the Deadly Theater, the Holy Theater, Rough Theater , and the Immediate Theater,)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

sample search screen from International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance