"Inmate Count in U.S. Dwarfs Other Nations'," New York Times,
Late ed., East Coast, April 23, 2008, p. A1. Available full text in
database ProQuest Newspapers.
California:
A
Primer: Three Strikes - The Impact After More than a Decade (2005) [LAO]
| PDF-36 pages
California:
California Proposition 66
|
Ballot
Returns [November 2004]
Pros and cons: "Sentencing Debates,"
CQ Researcher, November 5, 2004
Recent report:
Still Striking Out: Ten Years of California's Three Strikes (2004)
Recent report:
California
Three-Strikes Law Imprisons More Than Other States (Sept. 2004)
Recent report:
Three Strikes & You're Out
Recent report:
Racial Divide: California Three Strikes Law (Oct. 2004)
Recent report: The
Meaning of "Life:" Long Prison Sentences in Context (2004)
PDF-37 pages
The Sentencing Project:
Fact sheets & research (U.S. organization that opposes harsh prison sentences imposed on
criminal offenders and promotes alternative sentencing. Fact sheets and
research about three-strikes,
sentencing for drug offenses, prison conditions, prosecution of
youth offenders and the
mentally ill, and
rates of conviction for black people.)
Online:
Gale Virtual Reference Library
[CSUF only]
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice (2002) Note: See Sentencing: Mandatory, Vol. 4 pp. 1443-48 REFERENCE
HV6017 .E52 2002 v.1-4
CATALOG RECORD
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment (2002) Note:
See Habitual Felony Laws, Vol. 2 p. 813 REFERENCE
HV6017 .E524 2002 v.1-4
CATALOG RECORD
American
Justice (1996) Note: See Mandatory Sentencing Laws REFERENCE KF154 .A44 1996 Vol. 1-3
CATALOG RECORD
Congressional Quarterly's Desk Reference on American Criminal
Justice (2001)
REFERENCE HV9950 .B364 2001
CATALOG RECORD
Encyclopedia
of Social Issues (1997) Note: Includes
public opinion data REFERENCE HN57 .E59 1997 Vol. 1-6
CATALOG RECORD
U.S. Code: 18
U.S.C. Sect. 3559(a) [sentencing classification of offenses]
Online: INTERNET
VERSION
West's
Encyclopedia of American Law (1998)
REFERENCE KF154 .W47 1998 Vol. 1-12
CATALOG RECORD
Recent:
Still Striking Out: Ten Years of California's Three Strikes (2004)
Recent:
The Meaning of "Life:" Long
Prison Sentences in Context (2004)
PDF-37 pages
Recent: Aging Behind Bars: Three Strikes Seven Years Later (2001)
PDF-13
pages
History:
History of Mandatory Minimum Sentencing Laws (2000).
Note:
Scroll down to heading
History of Mandatory Minimum Sentencing
Laws
10 Reasons to Oppose "Three Strikes You're Out" [ACLU]
America's
One Million Nonviolent Prisoners (1999)
Criminal Sentences: Law Without Order
(1973)
CATALOG RECORD
Frequently cited early study:
Effectiveness of
Correctional Treatment: A Survey of Treatment Evaluation Studies
(Lipton, Martinson, & Wilks) (1975) CATALOG RECORD
In Defense of Three Strikes: Analyzing
the Impact of California's 1994 Anti-Crime Measures (1996)
CATALOG RECORD
Key Legislative Issues in Criminal
Justice: Mandatory Sentencing (1997)
PDF-6 pages |
CATALOG RECORD
Three Strikes and You're Out: A Review
of State Legislation [all states]
TXT file |
PDF-16 pages |
CATALOG RECORD & INTERNET
LINK
Three Strikes and You're Out: Vengeance
as Public Policy (1996)
CATALOG RECORD
Three Strikes: Five Years Later
[California] [Campaign for an Effective Crime Policy]
PDF-30
pages
Three Strikes Legislation and Sentencing
Commission Objectives [all
states] (1998)
Why Did the Crime Rate Decrease Through
1999? And Why Might It Decrease or Increase in 2000 and Beyond?
[California Attorney General's Office] (2000)
PDF-41 pages
Note:
Use Acrobat's
FIND
feature—binoculars
icon—to
quickly locate
three strikes
in this report.
House Report: To Provide for Increased
Mandatory Minimum Sentences for Criminals Possessing Firearms, and for
Other Purposes: report together with dissenting views (1997)
CATALOG RECORD
-
California:
A
Primer: Three Strikes - The Impact After More than a Decade (2005) [LAO]
| PDF-36 pages
-
Recent statistics:
Three Strikes: Statistics
-
Recent report:
The Meaning of "Life:" Long
Prison Sentences in Context (2004)
PDF-37 pages
- "Third-Strike Plea Bargains On Rise in
O.C.: Crime: Under D.A. Tony Rackauckas, fewer repeat offenders
are getting 25-to-life sentences, which mirrors a statewide trend,"
Los Angeles Times, Friday, February 15, 2002. Orange County Edition,
Section B page 1.
For full text, search
Los Angeles Times by Article Title.
- "Three Strikes A Bad Law With No Reforms
in Sight" [statistics] [commentary], Los Angeles Times, January
6, 2002, page M2.
For full text, search
Los Angeles Times by Article Title.
- "Court Deals Blow to '3 strikes' law,"
Orange County Register, Saturday, November 3, 2001. page 1. This
article includes statistics on
Orange County
Three Strikes cases from 1994-2001 and also gives a time line of major
rulings. For full text, search
Proquest Newspapers
by Article Title.
- Consequences of Mandatory Minimum Prison
Terms: A Summary of Recent Findings (United States) (1994)
CATALOG RECORD
- Effects of Judges' Sentencing Decisions
on Criminal Careers (1999)
PDF-11 pages
Note:
Use
Acrobat's
FIND
feature—binoculars
icon—to
quickly locate
three strikes
in this report.
- Why Did the Crime Rate Decrease Through
1999? And Why Might It Decrease or Increase in 2000 and Beyond?
[California Attorney General's Office] (2000)
PDF-41 pages
Note:
Use
Acrobat's
FIND feature—binoculars
icon size="2" face="verdana">quickly locate
three strikes
in this report.
Recent report:
The Meaning of "Life:" Long
Prison Sentences in Context (2004)
PDF-37 pages
Statistics:
"Three-Strikes Law Has Little Effect, Study Says". Los Angeles Times, Friday, March 5, 2004, Part B page 1. For
full text,
search
Los Angeles Times
by Article Title.
Overview:
Assessment of the Effects of California's Three Strikes Law [Greenwood]
(2002) PDF-14 pages
Overview:
Punishment and Democracy: Three Strikes and You're Out in California
(2001)
CATALOG RECORD
Statistics:
Three Strikes:
Latest Statistics [California Dept. of Corrections]
Overview:
The
"Three Strikes and You're Out" Law [California
Criminal Law Observer]
Statistics:
"Prosecutors Seek Fewer 3rd Strikes; Since
the peak in 1996, D.A.s, including L.A. County's Cooley, have been more
selective in pursuing life sentences for three-time felons." Los
Angeles Times, May 27, 2003, California section, page 1. For
full text,
search
Los Angeles Times
by Article Title.
"Supreme Court to Hear Three-Strikes
Challenge" (gives some
statistics
on
California's
Three Strikes law), Los Angeles Times, April 2, 2002, Page A-1.
For
full text,
search
Los Angeles Times by Article Title.
"Third-Strike Plea Bargains On Rise in
O.C.:
Crime: Under D.A. Tony Rackauckas, fewer repeat offenders are getting
25-to-life sentences, which mirrors a statewide trend," Los Angeles
Times, Friday, February 15, 2002. Orange County Edition, Section B
page 1.
For
full text,
search
Los Angeles Times by Article Title.
"2 Campaigns Bid to Ease 3 Strikes
Corrections: A bill and a voter initiative would exempt petty thieves
from the law's longest prison terms." Los Angeles Times,
Wednesday, January 16, 2002, page B1.
For full text, search
Los Angeles Times by Article Title.
Statistics & commentary:
"Three Strikes A Bad Law With No Reforms in Sight,"
Los Angeles Times,
January 6, 2002, page M2.
For full text, search
Los Angeles Times by Article Title.
Statistics—Orange
County:
"Court Deals Blow to '3 strikes' law,"
Orange County Register,
Saturday, November 3, 2001. page 1. This article includes statistics on
Orange County Three Strikes cases from 1994-2001 and also gives a
time line of major rulings. For full text, search
Proquest Newspapers
by Article Title.
California
Criminal Law Observer [The Law, Proposition 184, Juvenile Crimes,
Serious Felonies, Violent Felonies]
California bills:
Assembly Bill 971 (California 1993-94 Legislative Session)
Note:
This site gives all versions of
bill text, legislative history, analyses, and votes.
California Code:
California Penal Code
Section 667 [NOTE: Select
Penal Code
and SEARCH for the term
667]
California Code:
California Penal Code
Section 1170.12 [NOTE: Select
Penal Code
and
search
for the term
1170.12]
"3 Strikes Targets Less-Violent, Older
Offenders, Study Finds: Justice: The State's Policy Has Had Little
Effect on Crime, the Report of a Liberal Think Tank Says," Los
Angeles Times, Thursday, August 23, 2001, page B8.
For full text, search
Los Angeles Times by Article Title.
In Defense of Three Strikes: Analyzing
the Impact of California's 1994 Anti-Crime Measures (1996)
CATALOG RECORD
The
Impact of the "Three Strikes and You're Out" Law on California's Justice
System [after 2 years] [California Legislative Analyst's Office] (1996)
State's Three Strikes Law Strikes Out [Berkeleyan] (1999)
Three Strikes and You're Out! A Promise
to Kimber
[California]
(1996)
CATALOG RECORD
Three
Strikes and You're Out: Benefits, and Costs, and Alternatives [Rand]
(1994)
"Three Strikes and You're Out" Law's Impact on State
Prisons: An Update [California]
(1999)
Three Strikes and You're Out: A Review
of State Legislation
(1997)
[all states]
TXT file |
PDF-16 pages |
CATALOG RECORD
Three Strikes Law: Sentencing Enhancement
(Criminal Resource Manual 01032)
Three Strikes, You're Out: Impact
California's Criminal Justice System and Options for Ongoing Monitoring
(1996)
CATALOG RECORD
Why Did the Crime Rate Decrease Through
1999? And Why Might It Decrease or Increase in 2000 and Beyond? (2000)
(California Attorney General's Office)
PDF-41 pages
Note: Use Acrobat's
FIND feature—binoculars
icon—to
quickly locate
three strikes
in this report.
Lockyer v. Andrade
(March 5, 2003) Supreme Court ruling that a decision resulting in two consecutive terms
of twenty-five years to life in prison for a "third strike" conviction
was not "contrary to, or an unreasonable application of, clearly
established federal law."
To find
articles, search Pollak Library's
subscription databases. The links below will take you to a list of
relevant databases.
Databases--Statistics
Databases--Current Issues
Databases--Scholarly Journals
Databases--Newspapers
Databases--Government Sources
CQ Researcher articles of note:
May 10, 2002
Mandatory Sentencing,
May 26, 1995
A rticles of special note:
top (For help searching
Factiva,
Proquest Newspapers, or the
Los Angeles Times, please ask at the
Reference Desk.)
Editorial: "A prison of our own making,"
Joe Domanick. Los
Angeles Times, Home Edition,
Dec 10, 2006. pg. M.4.
"Impact of 3-Strikes Law Still Unclear;
More than 10 years after the law was enacted, the latest study finds no
direct link between the harsher sentencing and crime reduction,"
Jenifer Warren. Los
Angeles Times, Home Edition,
Oct 19, 2005. pg. B.3.
"They Changed Their Minds on Three
Strikes. Can They Change the Voters'? Ten years ago, these men
wanted to see three strikes become the law in California. Now
they're leading the fight to reform it." September 19, 2004,
Magazine Cover Story.
"Rehabilitate
Three-Strikes Law ... but Do It the Right Way:
Reserve the penalty for the truly violent, and help others reenter
society."
Los Angeles Times
,
May 2, 2004 , p. M.2.
"Prosecutors Seek Fewer 3rd Strikes; Since the peak in 1996,
D.A.s, including L.A. County's Cooley, have been more selective in
pursuing life sentences for three-time felons"
[statistics].
Los Angeles Times, May 27, 2003, California section, page 1.
"U.S. Supreme Court Affirms
Megan's Laws, Three-Strikes," Los Angeles Times, March 6,
2003.
"U.S.
Supreme Court considers challenge to California’s three-strikes,"
AP
Newswire, October 30, 2002. Available
full
text on
Factiva
(search:
three
strikes and california and supreme court
IN Headline or Lead Paragraph).
"Third-Strike Plea Bargains On Rise in
O.C.: Crime: Under D.A. Tony Rackauckas, fewer repeat
offenders are getting 25-to-life sentences, which mirrors a statewide
trend,"
Los Angeles Times, Friday, February 15, 2002. Orange
County Edition, Section B page 1.
"3-Strikes Sentence Is Ruled Cruel,"
Los Angeles Times, Saturday Home Edition, Part A, Part 1,
Page 1, November 3, 2001.
"Court Deals Blow to '3 strikes' law,"
Orange County Register, Saturday, November 3, 2001. page 1.
This article includes
statistics
on
Orange County
Three Strikes cases from 1994-2001 and also gives a time line of major
rulings. For
full text,
search Proquest Newspapers
by Article Title.
"3 Strikes Targets Less-Violent, Older
Offenders, Study Finds," Los Angeles Times, Thursday, August
23, 2001, page B8.
"Three Strikes and You're Out:
Investigating False Positives," Federal Probation, v.64 n.1
p.3-6 (June 2000). DOCS/US
JU 10.8:64 n.1 p.3-6
[available in print only]
"Perspective: Deterrent Effect of
Three Strikes Law," FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, v.68 n.4
p.6-10 (April 1999)
PDF 34
pages
Note:
Use Acrobat's
FIND
feature—binoculars icon—to quickly locate
three strikes
in this report.
"Lock 'Em Up?"
California
Journal, v.30 n.2 p.8-16 (February 1999).
PERIODICALS
JK8701 .C33 v.30 n.2 p.8-16 [available in print only].
"Three Strikes and You're Out: Are
Repeat Offender Laws Having Their Anticipated Effects?"
Judicature, v.81 n.4 p.144 (Jan/Feb 1998).
PERIODICALS
K1 J9 v.81 n.4 p.144 [available in print only].
"Three Strikes and You're Out: The
Political Sentencing Game," Federal Probation, March 1995,
v.59 n.1 p.3-9.
DOCS/US
JU 10.8:59 v.59 n.1 p.3-9
[available in
print
only].
Updated
04/23/08
top
. |