Pollak Library Research Guides Special Topics Guides →  TITLE IX: SPORTS LAW

library logo

Title IX: Sports Law
A Guide to Resources in Pollak Library   


Recent Titles
Encyclopedias
Law, Legislative History, Supreme Court Opinions
Books
Web Sites
Articles

Recent Titles                  

Encyclopedias                 

Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF only]

Women's Issues
REFERENCE HQ 115 W6425 1997, Vol. 3, pages 868-870 CATALOG RECORD

International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports
REFERENCE  GV 709 I58 2001, Vol. 3, pages 1174-77 CATALOG RECORD

Encyclopedia of Education (2003)
REFERENCE  LB 15 .E47 2003, Vol. 7, pages 2569-3075 CATALOG RECORD

Encyclopedia of Women and Sport in America
REFERENCE  GV 709 .E53 1998, pages 308-310 CATALOG RECORD

Handbook of American Women's History
REFERENCE HQ 1410 .H36 2000, pages 571-572 CATALOG RECORD


Law, Legislative History, Supreme Court Opinions 

Text of the law in United States Code:     

Online: Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972: 20 U.S.C. §§ 1681 - 1688: TITLE 20—Education: CHAPTER 38—Discrimination  Based on Sex or Blindness [U.S. Dept. of Justice]

Online: US CODE Title 20 chapter 38 [LII]

Print:  20 U.S.C.A. 1681 et seq.
REFERENCE  KF62 .W48x Volume 20 section 1681

Online: Title IX, Education Amendments of 1972 (Title 20 U.S.C. Sections 1681-1688) [U.S. Dept. of Labor]

Online: Title IX of the Education Amendments Act of 1972—citation and summary

Text of the public law as passed in 1972 (Public Law 92-318, 86 STAT 235):

U.S. Statutes At Large
REFERENCE  KF 50 U5 Vol. 86 page 235

U.S.C.A.A.N.
REFERENCE  KF 63 U5x 1972 Vol. 1 page 278

Legislative History     top

U.S.C.A.A.N.
REFERENCE  KF 63 U5x 1972 Vol. 2, p. 2462

Code of Federal Regulations     top

Code of Federal Regulations: Title 34 Part 106—Nondiscrimination on the Basis of Sex in Education Programs Or Activities Receiving Federal Financial Assistance
These regulations concern non-discrimination on the basis of sex in education programs and activities receiving or benefiting from Federal financial assistance. These regulations were published by the Department of Education and codified at 34 CFR Part 106.

Federal Register Notices—Title IX     top

Policy Interpretation—Title IX and Intercollegiate Athletics

Supreme Court Opinion

Jackson v. Board of Education (2005) PDF-32 pages
Supreme Court decision that Title IX not only protects girls and women who might be victims of discrimination, but also those who seek to enforce its guarantee of equal treatment.


Books                             
Below is a selective list of books in Pollak Library. To find more books in Pollak Library, search the Library Catalog using these searches as examples:

     Subject: sex discrimination in sports

opac screen


Web Sites                       

NCES: What is Title IX [statistics on progress since 1970's]

Gender Equity in Sports [Univ. of Iowa]

National Women's Law Center: Athletics

National Association for Girls and Women in Sports: Title IX

The Future of Title IX, The Federal Statute Concerning Gender Equality In Athletics: Can It Survive the Secretary of Education's Planned Revisions? [EDITORIAL] (March 2003)

On the Thirtieth Anniversary of Title IX, We Need to Preserve, Not Reverse, Its Guarantee of Equity for Women in College Athletics [EDITORIAL] (2002)

Trends in Educational Equity of Girls & Women: 2004
"This report responds to a Congressional mandate to assemble a series of indicators that examine the extent to which males and females have access to the same educational opportunities. These 44 indicators looks at how males and females avail themselves equally of these opportunities, perform at the same level, succeed at the same rate, and obtain the same benefits." —Home page

Title IX: 25 Years Of Progress (1997)
Overview of the impact of Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, which prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex in education programs receiving Federal financial assistance. The brochure describes the impact of Title IX in improving educational opportunities for students during its 25 years.

Clarification of Intercollegiate Athletics Policy Guidance: The Three-Part Test.
See also July 2003 Update.


Articles                          

To find articles, search Pollak Library's subscription databases. The links below will take you to a list of relevant databases.

Library Home Page
An instructional page of Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2007 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Send comments about this page to Catherine Kaye
URL of this page: http://guides.library.fullerton.edu/titleix/Default.htm
Created: 9/18/2000. Updated: 07/21/2008.
Locations of visitors to this page