|
|
WOMEN
AND MINORITIES IN SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING A Pollak Library Reference Guide by Barbie McConnell, Reference & Instruction Librarian |
| Pollak Library > Research Guides > Research Guides by Special Topic > WOMEN AND MINORITIES IN SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING | |
|
|
| . | |
NOTE:
To research an individual, it is most direct to start by searching for that individual’s name in the
Biography & Genealogy Master Index and the
Biography Index. Many of the sources below are indexed in these databases: the database will refer you to the specific sources that describe the individuals. In addition, you may use the materials listed below to supplement those sources, to find information on individuals not listed in those sources, or to search in other ways (by profession, nationality, time period, etc.).
NOTE: Remember that female minorities will be covered both as minorities and as women. It may be worth checking resources from both areas.
NOTE: For general works that may include
women and/or minorities and may index individuals as such: see also
Library Research Guides for
Biography Resources and
History of
Science
- American Men and Women of Science
Standard reference tool for brief biographical information on scientists in America. OPAC RECORD- Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science; Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century
The premier biographical dictionary of women in science. OPAC RECORD- Women Scientists from Antiquity to the Present: An Index OPAC RECORD
Indexes sources for biographical information on women scientists. Sources include directories, encyclopedias, books, and journal articles. Dated 1986, so will not include more recent works, but a good way to locate biographical information in earlier sources.
- American Institute of Physics: Women in Physics
Data on education and employment of women in physics.- Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics
Describes important contributions made prior to 1976.- 4000 Years of Women in Science
Biographical information on women in science.- National Women's Hall of Fame
Biographical information on inductees--including women in science.- Women and Minorities in Science and Engineering
A collection of links maintained by a professor at Mills College. Includes links to sites on both racial and sexual minorities in science and engineering.
Prepared by Barbie
McConnell: bmcconnell@fullerton.edu
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at
California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2002-2006 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
URL of this page: http://guides.library.fullerton.edu/wmscience/default.htm
Created: 08/28/02. Updated:
08/24/06 .