logo

Women
A Guide to Resources in Pollak Library   
Encyclopedias

new Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF only]

American Women: Who They Are & How They Live
REFERENCE  HC110.C6 A438 1997 CATALOG RECORD

A to Z of Women in Science and Math (1999)
REFERENCE  Q141 .Y675 1999 CATALOG RECORD 

American Women in Science: 1950 to the Present (1998)
REFERENCE  Q141 .B254 1998 CATALOG RECORD

American Women in Technology: An Encyclopedia (2000)
REFERENCE  T36 .Z54 2000 CATALOG RECORD

Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century
REFERENCE  Q141 .B5285 2000 CATALOG RECORD 

new Black Women in America (2005) CATALOG RECORD

new Dictionary of women worldwide : 25,000 women through the ages (2007)
REFERENCE CT3202 .D53 2007 V.1-3

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and
Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender
(2001)
REFERENCE HQ1115 .E52 2001 v. 1-2 CATALOG RECORD

Encyclopedia of Women and Sport in America (1998)
REFERENCE  GV709 .E53 1998 CATALOG RECORD

Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion (1999)
REFERENCE  BL458 .E53 1999 CATALOG RECORD

Encyclopedia of Women in American History (2002)
REFERENCE  HQ1410 .E53 2002 V.1-3 CATALOG RECORD

Encyclopedia of Women in American Politics (1999)
REFERENCE  HQ1236.5.U6 E53 1999  CATALOG RECORD

Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers (2001)
REFERENCE  HQ1236 .R29 2001 VOL. 1-2 CATALOG RECORD

Online: Feminist Ethics [Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy]

Online: Feminist History of Philosophy [Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy]

Online: Feminist Perspectives of the Self [Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy]

From Suffrage to the Senate: An Encyclopedia of American Women in Politics (1999)
REFERENCE  HQ1236.5.U6 S32 1999 CATALOG RECORD 

new Great American Women in the 19th Century: A Biographic Encyclopedia (2005)
REFERENCE  CT3260 .A4725 2005 CATALOG RECORD

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide (2003)
REFERENCE HQ1115 .G74 2003 Vol. 1-6  CATALOG RECORD

Handbook of American Women's History
REFERENCE HQ1410 .H36 2000 CATALOG RECORD

Historical and Multicultural Encyclopedia of Women's Reproductive Rights in the United States(2002)
REFERENCE HQ766.5.U5 H57 2002 CATALOG RECORD

Historical Dictionary of Women's Education in the United States (1998)
REFERENCE  LC1752 .H57 1998 CATALOG RECORD

International  Encyclopedia of Women and Sports (3 volumes) (2001)
REFERENCE  GV709 .I58 2001 CATALOG RECORD

Notable Women in World Government (2000)
REFERENCE  HQ1236 .N68 2000 CATALOG RECORD

Prominent Women of the 20th Century (4 volumes) (1996)
REFERENCE  CT3235 .S2 1996 CATALOG RECORD

Quotable Women of the Twentieth Century (1999)
REFERENCE  PN6081.5 .Q64 1999 CATALOG RECORD

Routledge International Encyclopedia of  Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge (4 volumes) (2000)
REFERENCE  HQ1115 .R69 2000 CATALOG RECORD

Wilson Chronology of Women's Achievements (1998)
REFERENCE  HQ1121 .F65 1998 CATALOG RECORD

Women and American Television: An Encyclopedia (1999)
REFERENCE  PN1992.8.W65 L69 1999 CATALOG RECORD

new Women and Equality in the Workplace (2003)
REFERENCE  HD6095 .G48 2003 CATALOG RECORD

Women in Congress, 1917-1990 (1991)
3RD FLOOR NORTH DOC/US  Y 1.1/2:14004
 

Women in Higher Education: An Encyclopedia
REFERENCE  LC1569 .W66 2002 CATALOG RECORD 

new Women in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia (2004)
REFERENCE  HQ1143 .W643 2004 v. 1-2
CATALOG RECORD

Women in the Third World: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues (1998)
REFERENCE  HQ1870.9 .W6548 1998 CATALOG RECORD 

Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia (1999-2002)
REFERENCE HQ1115 .W6 1999 (17 volumes) CATALOG RECORD

Women's Almanac 
REFERENCE  HQ1101 .W7562 2000 CATALOG RECORD

Women's Figures: An Illustrated Guide to the Economic Progress of Women in America
REFERENCE  HQ1426 .F885 1999 CATALOG RECORD

Women's Firsts: Milestones in Women's History (2 volumes) (1998)
REFERENCE  HQ1121 .W8858 1998 CATALOG RECORD

Women's Issues (3 volumes) (1997)
REFERENCE  HQ1115 .W6425 1997 CATALOG RECORD

Women's Rights Handbook [California]
Online: INTERNET VERSION
Employment, Economic Independence, Divorce, Violent Crimes Against, Child Care

Women's Studies Encyclopedia (1999)
REFERENCE  HQ1115 .W645 1999 CATALOG RECORD  

Women's Voices: A Documentary History of Women in America (1997)
REFERENCE  HQ1410 .W688 1997 CATALOG RECORD 


Primary & Historical Sources  ▲
  • Women and Social Movements
    Books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life. Over 20,000 pages of documents, many full text, and 600 images pertaining to women's activism. The database is structured around 59 document projects. Each project answers an interpretative quiestion using a collection of primary documents. Also included are teaching tools with lesson plans, a chronology of U.S. women's history and a Dictionary of Social Movements.
  • The Making of a Homemaker [Smithsonian Institution]
    Domestic guidebooks from the 19th century. "These books were primarily aimed at the middle and upper class female, who saw keeping a healthy and happy home her role in life. Not only did they detail the day-to-day activities of a homemaker, but also prescribed the appropriate moral and religious outlooks." Explore book contents on topics such as care of the sick, decorating, etiquette, fashion, and raising children. From the Smithsonian Institution Libraries.
  • Women in the Literary Marketplace, 1800-1900
    "The books and letters in this exhibition present a cross section of writing by English women in the nineteenth century -- a period when women entered the literary marketplace in unprecedented numbers." Includes early role models, women poets, publishing, "new women" novels, and journalism. From the Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, Cornell University Library.
  • A Daring Experiment: Harvard and Business Education for Women, 1937-1970
    The story of business education for women at Harvard, which "began in 1937 with a certificate program in personnel administration at Radcliffe College." Oral histories from graduates of the of the Harvard Business School and Radcliffe College's certificate program. Research links. From the Baker Library Historical Collections, Harvard Business School.
  • Enterprising Women: 250 Years of American Business
    Companion to an exhibit that "brings to life the stories of some 40 intriguing women who helped shape the landscape of American business." Timeline with background about women such as Lydia Pinkham, Madam C.J. Walker, Martha Stewart, and Oprah Winfrey. Mentorship stories, games, and classroom material. Organized by the Schlesinger Library of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University and the National Heritage Museum in Lexington, Massachusetts.
  • Picturing Women
    "Explores how women are figured, fashioned, turned into portraits, and told about in words and pictorial narrative." Large collection of historical images, interactive features, lesson plans, reading list, video clips and images from the accompanying symposium, e-cards of comic valentines, and more. From Bryn Mawr College, Library Company of Philadelphia, and the Rosenbach Museum and Library.
Books
Statistics

Search Library Catalog by subject: women united states statistics

Web Sites

Earnings & Employment

Search Library Catalog by subject: women employment united states
Search Library Catalog by subject: women employment united states statistics

     Recent Titles

     Additional Titles in Alphabetic Order.

Articles

To find articles, search Pollak Library's subscription databases. The links below will take you to relevant databases.

Women and Social Movements

Womens Studies International

GenderWatch

Databases--Statistics
Databases--Current Issues
Databases--Scholarly Journals
Databases--Newspapers
Databases--Government Sources

Library Home Page

An instructional page of Pollak Library, California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2000 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
This page created and maintained by Catherine Kaye.
URL of this page: http://guides.library.fullerton.edu/women/Default.htm
Created: 10/20/00. Updated: 06/10/08 .