Recent Titles ▲
- Indicators of School Crime and Safety: 2008
- Co-Occurrence of Substance Use Behaviors in Youth (2008)
- Youth Violence - recent reports from CDC
- SAMHSA: Youth Violence Prevention: Browse Publications
- Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention: Topics
- NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service: Juvenile Justice
- Juvenile Death Penalty [ABA]
- Historical overview: Juvenile Justice: A Century of Change (1999) [DOJ]
- Surgeon General's Report: Youth Violence (2001)
Statistics ▲
- Indicators of School Crime and Safety: 2008
- Co-Occurrence of Substance Use Behaviors in Youth (2008)
- Violence Prevention and United States Students (2008)
- OJJDP: Statistical Briefing Room
- Juvenile Arrests 2006 (2008)
- NCES: School Crime - recent publications
- NCES: Violence - recent publications
- NCES: Victimization in School - recent publications
- Student Behaviors and School Policies and Practices Fact Sheets
Encyclopedias ▲
- Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF]
- Juvenile Justice: A Reference Handbook (2005)
- Juvenile Crime (2003)
Web Sites ▲
- OJJDP: Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
- OJJDP: Statistical Briefing Room
- CDC: Youth Violence
- SAMHSA: Youth Violence Prevention: Browse Publications
Books ▲
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: children and violence
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: youth and violence
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: youth and violence united states prevention
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: children crimes against
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: juvenile delinquency
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: juvenile delinquency united states prevention
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: juvenile homicide
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: school violence
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: violence in children
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: bullying
Titles of note:
- History: Evolution of School Disturbance in America: Colonial Times to Modern Day (1997)
- History: Juvenile Justice: A Century of Change (1999)
- History: Gangs: The Origins and Impact of Contemporary Youth Gangs in the United States (1993)
- Surgeon General's Report: Youth Violence: A Report of the Surgeon General (2001)
Articles ▲
- Databases--Statistics
- Databases--Pro and Con
- Databases--Scholarly Journals
- Databases--Newspapers
- Databases--Government Sources
California & Orange County ▲
- Books: Library Catalog SUBJECT: school violence California
- Orange County: Annual Report on the Condition of Children in Orange County - see Section Safe Homes & Communities
- Office of the Attorney General: Criminal Justice Statistics Center
- Office of the Attorney General: Statistics by City and County
- Juvenile Justice in California, 2007
- Crime in California [annual]
- California Dept. of Education: Violence Prevention
- Safe Schools: A Planning Guide for Action Workbook (2002)
- School Violence Prevention & Response: Final Report (2000)
- California Education Code: SEE Section 35294 (School Safety)
Juveniles Tried as Adults ▲
- Boys among men: trying and sentencing juveniles as adults (2005) CATALOG RECORD
- "The Effects of Adjudicating and Sentencing Juveniles as Adults: Research and Policy Implications," Youth Violence and Juvenile Justice, 2003, v. 1, no. 2, pages 182-155. Available full text (free) on Highwire.
- "Contesting Childhood in the US Justice System," Childhood, 2005, v. 12, no. 4, pages 461-478. Available full text (free) on Highwire.
- Juveniles in Court (2003) - See All states allow juveniles to be tried as adults in criminal court under certain circumstances
- "The Disposables: Our Treatment of Violent Adolescents," American Journal of Psychoanalysis, Volume 62, Number 3, September 2002, pp. 273-284. Available full text in SpringerLink.
- Juveniles and the Death Penalty (2000)
- Juvenile Justice: A Century of Change [juveniles tried as adults] (1999)
- Juveniles in Adult Prisons and Jails: A National Assessment (2000)
- Re-Arrest Rates Among Youth Sentenced in Adult Court (2001)
- Providing Effective Representation for Youth Prosecuted as Adults (2000)
